Letterboxd Reviews For My Favourite Movies of 2022 ✌🏻

Welcome to another end-of-year post,

This one is all about my favourite movies that I watched/discovered this year. Including 2022 releases and so many amazing backlist finds. This year I am doing this post with a twist, instead of just sharing my thoughts on these movies, I am sharing LetterBoxd reviews of them.

I have seen people share LetterBoxd reviews on Instagram and I know people react to Goodreads reviews, so I am following the dangerous rule of if other people are doing it, I can too?! But I have made sure to share the owner of the reviews and all credit goes to them. Hopefully, it is all good, but let me know if there are any issues.

What is LetterBoxd? (just in case you haven’t heard of it)

People use the app to write reviews (typically short) for movies to share with their followers/the public. It is essentially like Goodreads for movies. I tend to prefer the short, funny reviews over the lengthy analysis because they are simply more powerful.

Promising Young Woman [2020]

The soundtrack for this movie was stellar! It completely uplifted the movie and I loved the production of it all.

🎥 MIX IT UP | matching books with the ‘Promising Young Woman’ soundtrack

Genius, genuinely genius.
I agree with the sentiment; it really goes big on questioning the nice guy persona which is rare in films and it did it really well. Should it scare men? No?? But it should make them realise why women can never trust “men” because sadly the possibility of threat is always there.
It really does subtly highlight the reality for women. Sharing nightmares is caring at this point.
I feel like this review showcases the point of the movie quite well, especially as it is rarely as sweet as we think it’ll be. This movie is ultimately about injustices therefore it is not always a satisfying watch, but it has a point because of it.

Down With Love [2003]

It shocked me and looking back I thought “should it have?” but this review made me think maybe it was just *that* good. It genuinely pulled it off, but it won’t get the full appreciation because it isn’t a serious drama.
People are hot and it is very camp. I love this genre.
This is the perfect way to describe this movie! Read this and please, PLEASE watch the movie. It is probably my top favourite of the year.
It was beautiful. It reminded me why I watch films.

Black Swan [2010]

True. Body horror scares me more than any supernatural horror. This film definitely leans into the horror side at times, not in stereotypical ways but it is there. I thought it was effective at creating this mood.
This is the new “it” genre and I do love it. Women completely shattering the restrictions placed on them is a joy to watch.
I loved how obsessed Nina was and the transformation, whilst destructive, was impossible to look away from.
Best. Move. Ever.

TRAIN TO BUSAN [2019]

Whilst a classic plot structure for a zombie movie with little explanation of the science, the characters brought the movie to another level for me. They weren’t the most typical choice (e.g. not a love story) as they focused on family and maybe friendships too. It was a journey. I loved it.
He was strong. He was kind. He just wanted to protect his pregnant wife. He felt less “showy” and cold than normal heroes, it was a winning personality.
I was typically against zombie movies, but this changed my mind. And, yes, it did make me cry which is very rare. The emotional power.
I loved this review and I think it gives you the right expectations for it, focusing on people but still giving you the thrill. Plus, I do think the film captured a wider conversation on humanity. It was *chef’s kiss*.

us [2019]

🎥 MOVIE NIGHTS: Jordan Peele’s Films

The movie was art, the soundtrack included.
Just some of the highlights and this review made me want to watch it immediately again. It kind of felt like a playful horror made extremely well. And, yes, Lupita Nyong’o was beyond amazing!
Always.
Another review worth reading because it gives you the best expectations and highlights its strength appropriately. Although some of the essay reviews on LetterBoxd were golden (just a bit too long for this post) because the movie does inspire thought and conversation.

honourable mentions

ENCANTO // I love Disney’s musicals. They are so cheerful and fun. Encanto had great music, different characters and showcased the importance of communication (or using one character for therapy). It was great but, Dolores deserved more songs!

TURNING RED // This movie was so noughties, I had to love it! It was chaotic, fun and talked about change well.

TOP GUN MAVERICK // It does have its issues, yet it was a thrilling experience. Everyone’s enthusiasm for it rubbed off on me too.

NOT OKAY // This was definitely highlighting unlikeable characters but for once the movie didn’t try to make them all of a sudden likeable. It felt honest that way and I enjoy the discomfort it could inspire in audiences. It was a different watch which is what I liked about it.

THE FORTY-YEAR-OLD VERSION // This is an underrated film in my mind. It talked about age, success and life with a beautiful artsy style. I could see many people appreciating this film.

🎥 MOVIE NIGHTS: women take the lead

JOJO RABBIT // I am not one for war films but this narrative focuses on a kid living in Germany during WW2. How it inexplicitly showed events and emotions is a massive show of the talent of creative storytelling. It is extremely well-made, as it doesn’t shove big emotions in your face, but you will feel them completely.

MARROWBONE // This is a film I didn’t rate too highly (2.5/5 stars) which I stand by, but it is getting a mention because I keep thinking about it. It had a humanely haunting end and I think the way it had since haunted my thoughts deserves a nod because that is quite rare.

🎥 October Reading Diary | books, movies, music 🎃🍁

What were your favourite movies of 2022? Do you use Letterboxd? What is your favourite type of movie?


16 thoughts on “Letterboxd Reviews For My Favourite Movies of 2022 ✌🏻

  1. What a variety of movies you watched this year Sophie! I was actually on the search for lots of 0’s & 90’s romcom / romance movies and finally watched a classic “10 things I hate about you” 😍 ooh yes I’ve been having a great time revisiting disney movies too & love the musicals so much!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I guess I don’t stick to one genre 😅 but it is fun exploring new areas!
      Oohh 90s/00s romcoms are so much fun. I hope you are enjoying your search. Down With Love could definitely be a contender 😉
      Ahh… 10 Things I Hate About You is one of the best. All those characters make it and I love the soundtrack too!
      Disney movies are definitely magical and so comforting. Plus I am all too happy to sing along to the songs 😆 I hope 2023 has lots of great movies for you 💜💜

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I reached for some more horror or horror adjacent films this year and I really liked doing it.
      Turning Red was fun. Pixar always provides a different watching experience and I love it.
      Belle is a good movie, I’m glad you enjoyed it (Tom Felton plays annoying characters really well)! I love that it was inspired my real history, it always makes me want to research more.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you get to watch “Us” soon, I thought it was an absolutely fabulous horror watching experience!!
      I really want to watch Everything, Everywhere, All At Once~~ so glad you loved it! 🥰

      Like

  2. SOPHIE HELLO THIS IS SUCH A UNIQUE AND FABULOUS POST!!!!!! it’s all iconic, basically 😩 also your taste in movies IS PHENOMENAL SOPHIE. nina sounds very VERY amazing and shall watch the movie just for her OKAY. but ngl, what you said for marrowbone fascinates me the most 👀 ALSO ENCANTO GETTING ALL THE RIGHTFUL LOVE THAT IT WHOLEHEARTEDLY DESERVES. the songs are all SO GOOOOOD. also just the entire magic aspect of it I’M IN LOVE

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yayyyy, thank you so much!! I honestly really enjoyed making this post, so glad you liked it!!
      Ahh… thank you, thank you. Black Swan is an amazing watch. Nina steals the show in more ways than one!!
      Marrowbone is like a period drama combined with horror, slightly disjointed but the ending touched my soul!! Let me know if you watch it (promise?)!
      Encanto deserves all the praise, it is exactly what disney movies should be!! The songs are amazing, 100% added to my playlist!! Yessss, the magic was so fun. I want to live there 😍

      Like

  3. AHHH SOPHIE I LOVE THIS!! I’ve unfortunately only watched turning red and encanto from this list(both of which were extremely fun) so I NEED to check the others out! And YES Dolores definitely needs a few more songs haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Suhani!! 💗 turning red and encanto were definitely fun~~ disney is so comforting! Thank YOU for agreeing that Dolores needs more, she was amazing (and her voice 😍)
      I hope you enjoy any of the other movies you decide to check out!

      Like

Leave a comment