MOVIE NIGHTS: horror-comedies

issue no. 3

HORROR-COMEDIES

Horror movies are by no means my least-watched genre, but I still feel pretty new to watching them. I thought in my exploration of new films, I would start gentle and watch horror comedy films. They are quite contrasting tones but both have an element of the ridiculous so they can mix surprisingly well. As you will soon discover, not as well as I hoped.

🎥 issue no. 1: book-to-movie adaptations

🎥 issue no. 2: women take the lead

movie one: jennifer’s body [2009]

synopsisA newly-possessed high-school cheerleader turns into a succubus who specializes in killing her male classmates. Can her best friend put an end to the horror? [view trailer]

age rating: 15

genre: horror, comedy

my rating: ★★★ 3/10

favourite character(s): Jennifer

I wanted to love this movie. I really did. In fact, I would still claim to love the Tumblr posts, gifs, quotes, and ideas from this movie.

It is iconic, and Jennifer was really entertaining and well-delivered. She carried all the humour with her one-liners. She is even more powerful if you consider when this movie was made. I’m aware that 2009 is not the 1800s, but how women are presented in the media has changed a lot. But Jennifer felt like a very bold character for that time, as proven by how long it took this movie to get a following.

Yet, I feel this movie was restricted by being made in 2009. Having watched it once, I don’t think I can fully commit to this opinion, but it was capable of more. It could have been more daring, more fun, and it felt like it wanted to but couldn’t. I also found it slightly boring. Not in a big way, but it was a bit of a drag to get through.

final thoughts: I’m mostly glad I watched it once.

movie two: ready or not? [2019]

synopsisA bride’s wedding night takes a sinister turn when her eccentric new in-laws force her to take part in a terrifying game. [view trailer]

age rating: 18

genre: horror, comedy, action

my rating: ★★★★★ 5/10

favourite character(s): Grace, Charity

As advertised, this was a deadly game of “hide and seek”. You can imagine what this film entails just from that simple sentence because it was exactly what it sounded like. It was a solid execution, just nothing special for me. It had bloody scenes, everything going wrong, and a trapped, thrilling feeling, but there were no grand twists or uniqueness to bring it to another level.

I appreciated how it got straight into the plot, with a thrilling ‘are you going to catch me?’ game. In fact, throughout the whole movie, there was less faff than in typical thrillers. It had snappy punches rather than a prolonged build-up. The characters had simple personalities but used subtle comedic freedom to flesh them out slightly more than the typical cliché.

⚠️SPOILER TERROIRTY⚠️: The most satisfying feeling I got from this movie was from the final display of righteous murder (and manic laughter). Throughout the film, you rooted for the underdog because of the narrative focus. Therefore it feels good when things go their way, and it goes wrong for the ‘villains’. The end scene, in particular, embellishes this feeling in a direct, non-cheesy way which I did enjoy.

final thoughts: I’m mostly glad I watched it once.

movie three: the final girls [2015]

synopsisA young woman grieving the loss of her mother, a famous scream queen from the 1980s, finds herself pulled into the world of her mom’s most famous movie. Reunited, the women must fight off the film’s maniacal killer. [view trailer]

age rating: 15

genre: horror, comedy, drama

my rating: ★★★★★ 5/10

favourite character(s):

This was actually a more serious movie than I imagined. It is still fun and pokes at the horror tropes as it played with them smartly and subtly. Never making exaggerated jokes, but enough to make you smile. Although it did have some exaggerated, larger-than-life side characters.

It focused on emotions. The relationship focus was a mother and daughter. The mother had died three years prior, so it brought in some heavy emotions and genuinely explored them. Even when characters died, it was taken seriously instead of just a joke. It was a pleasant surprise, the humour, not all being OTT, trying to make the audience laugh at everything. It felt refreshing.

It was only a short movie which worked in its favour because the fast pace kept you entertained. I think this movie stayed in the average zone for me, but it succeeded at what it was trying to achieve. It was a uniquely fun time. Now it has ended, so I can forget about it.

final thoughts: I’m mostly glad I watched it once.

movie four: the babysitter [2017]

synopsisWhen Cole stays up past his bedtime, he discovers that his hot babysitter belongs to a satanic cult that will stop at nothing to keep him quiet. [view trailer]

age rating: 15

genre: horror, comedy

my rating: ★★ 2/10

favourite character(s): Allison, Bee

The babysitter had its merits. Merits I didn’t necessarily predict it would have because I apparently judge movies before I have watched them. Firstly, The “babysitter” and “child’s” relationship was actually entertaining. It had a particular dynamic that felt like “friends-to-enemies”, so it had sweet moments alongside the murder. It was a weirdly nice balance. My favourite moments were when the plot focused on the two of them.

The next thing I liked was the humour. It leaned towards the ridiculous side, being over the top and unrealistic. Yet it had a slight subtlety and dryness that made me like it more. It wasn’t golden humour, but I found it genuinely enjoyable.

However, these things could not save the plot. Whilst I liked moments, I could not say I liked the movie. Ultimately, it was just a theatrical line of murders. Even though I didn’t need it to be groundbreaking, it was murder for murder’s sake, with no purpose or twists. It was very one-dimensional. Plus, the spiders and over-sexualised w/w kiss were a downer.

final thoughts: meh

movie five: bodies bodies bodies [2022]

synopsisWhen a group of rich 20-somethings plan a hurricane party at a remote family mansion, a party game turns deadly in this fresh and funny look at backstabbing, fake friends, and one party gone very, very wrong. [view trailer]

age rating: 15

genre: horror, comedy, thriller

my rating: ★★ 2/10

favourite character(s): Jordan

What a millennial experience. In fact, more of a mockery of millennials. Showcasing that stupidity will be young people’s downfall. Sometimes I found it a little too much, and other times, it made me smile at the ridiculousness of it. I mean, the end reveal. You had to laugh or cry at it. I chose the former.

The thrilling aspect, because the actual point of this movie was not just millennials existing, was how the friendship group turned on each other when one member was murdered. This was interesting because it looked at how quickly people turn on their friends in dire situations. I liked the gradual, logical way it showed the downfall.

This may be an unpopular opinion, but the “end reveal” made me like the exploration of distrust more. It showcased how you can look for something that isn’t that when you panic.

Other than that, I can’t say I enjoyed the film. I am getting bored of saying this, but I didn’t find it scary or funny, so what was there? It was an experience, just one I regretted halfway through watching it. Even the gag reel was boring.

final thoughts: meh.

Thank you for joining me for this watch party. Until next time…

follow me on letterboxd to stay up-to-date.

next theme
Jordan Peele’s films

Do you like scary movies? If so, please give me all your recommendations.


20 thoughts on “MOVIE NIGHTS: horror-comedies

  1. just now that i’ve seen this post, i’ve realized that the movie adaptation of my best friend’s exorcism would count as horror comedy!! i have not finished it yet because i no longer have the attention spam to watch 2h-long movies, but it was certainly leaning into the genre, and i appreciated how it was a lot more toned down compared to the original work.

    i have also not watched any jordan peele movies (do i even watch movies lmao) but i’ve heard so many great things about nope, i hope you enjoy it!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Horror comedies are defintiely not your typical comedies, I just followed IMDb’s lead here 😂
      That’s so weird that you mentioned that because I am currently reading my best friend’s exorcism (not loving it tho). I didn’t know there was a movie for it. haha long movies can be a challenge, I definitely have to be doing something with my hands for them or else I will not stay sat!

      haha I honestly started this whole movie nights so I watched more new movies and rewatched less! 😂 The theme after I think you will have watched though!
      Nope has been very popular indeed. Thank you 💕

      Like

  2. I don’t usually watch horror movies, I might get freaked out too easily 😅 I’ve seen maybe one horror comedy though, but I’d love to see Jennifer’s Body I keep hearing how fantastic it is. Loved reading your thoughts on all of these Sophie, they sound so different from one another! I think on the more horror-thriller side, I’ve seen Get Out and though it was a great film. Overall a wonderful list of recs!!✨✨

    Liked by 1 person

    1. haha horror movies definitely push your mind at times! You can overthink noises but horror comedies feel a lot less creepy to me! Jennifer’s Body is worth watching… a lot of great, iconic moments!
      Thank you sooo much 🥰 they do have different plots and different tones so they are interesting to experience at least!
      Get Out has been well-received, I’m glad you enjoyed it! I’m excited to review this one!
      Thank youuuu 💖

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Like it’s an amazing post clearly because it’s amusing and the recommendations are interesting but AAAH! I just love your format!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I feel the same way about Jennifer’s Body! The dialogue was so dated that it made me cringe at times 😬 My favourite horror comedies tend to be ones that take the ‘scarier’ parts so overboard that it goes way past scary to just be funny. Evil Dead II and Brain Dead are two of my favourites but they’re not exactly for everyone since they’re really gory.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jennifer’s Body did have a few cringey moments 😅 but I liked the idea behind most of them!
      I think I was imagining horror comedies to be about making the scare scenes OTT, I love the ridiculous side but I picked the wrong movies! Thank you for those recommendations, I will definitely look into them as I want to experience that side. I don’t mind gory, thank you for the warning 🥰

      Like

  4. AHHH Sophie I CANT wait to watch some of these!! I’m honestly deathly scared of horror but I definitely think I could settle for horror-comedy so I have to check these out! Love this so much! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw.. I’m glad you could find some recs Suhani ❤️🥰 haha horror does like to play with your mind. These movies do have some jump scares but the comedic tone can undermine the fear really! Hope you enjoy them!!
      Thank youuu so much 🥺

      Like

Leave a comment