The First Quarterly Wrap-Up | confession: i love reading

🚀 January – March 🦚

Welcome to my first wrap-up of 2023! I actually had the most enjoyable time reading this quarter, more than I have done in years. I more or less made time to read every day, even if only a page or two and I’d missed having it in my daily routine. There were a lot of books I loved, so I can’t wait to discuss them with you.

🍄 Graphic Novel Reviews | ghosts, space and, scariest of them all, the theatre

Blogging had felt a little bit less magic as I haven’t gravitated towards it so much. In fact, I am very surprised I got as much content out as I have. I am sorry my blog hopping has been so minimal though as I genuinely miss talking to everyone. It’s what makes you feel connected to the community. I wish I could say I will promise I will do better next month, but we will see. I am hoping to do Camp NaNoWriMo in April *wish me luck* so I imagine most of my spare time will be used for that. All my content has been prepared for April so at the very least I hope I will be quicker with replies.

top of the pops

THE DRAGON REPUBLIC BY R. F. KUANG // my favourite of the series. The plot itself was so thrilling and we got more from certain side characters which I loved. What stood out most was the focus on the emotional state of Rin. The aftermath of war and her need for a leader to tell her what to do. I felt like it was smartly keyed into and elevated my reading experience. Plus, the ending! It really got to me. I just can’t stop thinking about how *SPOILER* Nezha’s kind actions towards Rin often involved touching her back and then the ending. KILL. ME. NOW.

A LESSON IN THORNS BY SIERRA SIMONE // A different series for me, but it ended up being such a fun reading experience. The plot contains things that if I had to explain it to you, I would question the book. But, I just went with the flow. It was written really well and confidently so it was remarkably easy to do so. In fact, the writing was my favourite thing about the book/series. It was so pretty! The romances were written with the perfect amount of beauty and pain. THE. ANGST. AND. EMOTIONS. (you are damn right I want a paragraph about someone’s thumb touching her shoulder).

MAKING A SCENE BY CONSTANCE WU // Constance is an actress, but to me, this memoir was more about being an emotional woman than any story of fame. From childhood to falling in love, she talks about life intimately. I loved that it felt like catching up with a friend and big displays of emotions. It was entertaining, heartwarming and quietly revelationary. My favourite memoir to date.

great books

THE DEEP BY RIVERS SOLOMON // The Romantasyathon Reading Diary | a weekly readathon 🥀

THE FINAL STRIFE BY SAARA EL-ARIFI // The Romantasyathon Reading Diary | a weekly readathon 🥀

THE ATLAS PARADOX BY OLIVIE BLAKE // If you like the first book, you will probably like this. In fact, I enjoyed this one more. I was shocked to find Callum and Libby as the most intriguing characters this time. It can be a marmite series, but I enjoy the experience it provides. I think it does character studies really well, by focusing on reactions. Especially as there are many perspectives, you can see characters through different eyes. The first section of this book had an activity that highlighted this. There is a lot of ambiguity with this series so you tend to get what you put into it. I like “filling in the blanks” so to say, but I can see why it doesn’t work for everyone. I love the writing as well, bar the occasional line. It reminds me even so slightly of Stiefvater, especially that scene where Reina was describing someone in the cafe.

THE JADE SETTER OF JANLOON BY FONDA LEE // I love the green bone saga A LOT, but I was still surprised by how much it made me feel to step back into this world. It was pure elation. The story itself is a small-scale mystery. One I enjoyed but wouldn’t have any strong feelings towards if it wasn’t for my prior love and knowledge. It talked about clan relations focusing on impartiality and I enjoyed how these themes were discussed as it added to what I already knew, but from a different perspective. This was a clever opportunity for a novella and I enjoyed that most of all.

🍄 REASONS TO READ THE GREEN BONE SAGA BY FONDA LEE | flipping through fantasy

NETTLE AND BONE BY T. KINGFISHER // A different reading experience. A slow-paced fantasy focusing on the journey over anything else. In fact, the resolution itself was easily gained. But this was not a book about the challenges but what causes people to start their journey and how they will get to the end. It had a fairytale feel which is ultimately what made it a great read for me; comic moments, a whimsical style and that dashing side of “cuckoo” magic.

power of loving prior books

avoid if you haven’t read the previous books in these series.

THE BURNING GOD BY R. F. KUANG // I was disappointed with the final book. Rin’s situation seemed to swing from having everything to nothing multiple times, with no suspenseful rise or downfall meaning it weirdly felt anti-climatic. Then the last 100 pages or so had a tone shift for the ending. Personally, I think if you are going to do that ending, you need more than a last-minute tone change. Yes, the action of the entire series suited the ending, but I needed the emotional side to match in a larger capacity. I am going to be more critical because I hate that type of ending. I was still entertained and invested because I wanted to see more from these characters and how their journey was going to end. It just felt a bit shamble-y.

HELL BENT BY LEIGH BARDUGO // After reading Ninth House, I didn’t think Bardugo’s strength was writing mystery. It was the characterisation and fantasy elements I adored. So it was a shame the sequel didn’t have those strengths I’d come to expect. Most disappointing was the characters. I felt like I learnt nothing new about them in this book. There were more or less in the same place at the end as the start. They just repeated a few of their struggles, in a similar motion to the first book. Plus, this novel was about going to hell. How was that not the main attraction of the novel? All it was was a massive presumption, then a two-step dance to get there. It should have been more. I still liked it on a generic level (Turner is my favourite character), but all I kept thinking was wasted potential.

FEAST OF SPARKS BY SIERRA SIMONE // As mentioned this series was a little different for me and included things I’d normally turn away from. I don’t know if I was in the honeymoon phase in the first book, but in this one, it felt more noticeable. I still devoured the book quickly and loved the flashbacks as I finally saw the history that was so often hinted at. Simone writes angst so impeccably well and that is what keeps me coming back. The ending revelation was awful and I can’t wait for that to be rewritten.

HARVEST OF SIGHS BY SIERRA SIMONE // Calling this Rebecca and Delphine’s book was quite a stretch, but I am glad we got to experience their story a little more. Rebecca’s past explaining why she reacts to emotions the way she does was definitely the most dominant (*wink wink*) part of the plot. I really enjoyed this emotional explanation and whilst the ending felt like one that could have been easily avoided, it made sense for the story. Once again, it was the well-written angst that kept me hooked. Other elements of the plot felt weaker as Prosperina, once the main character, felt like she doesn’t have much to do but say yes to anything. I wish she had more to the story.

DOOR OF BRUISES BY SIERRA SIMONE // The final book in the Thornchapel series that had taken over my life for a while. My interest did slowly dwindle with each book that I read but reading the afterward made me more aware of the intent of the series which did help me rethink some parts in a good way. I could give you a list of things I liked about the series and things that could have been improved, but ultimately it comes down to me enjoying the emotional explorations and the writing, which is mostly what I want from romance.

good stuff

THAT TIME I GOT DRUNK AND SAVED A DEMON BY KIMBERLY LEMMING // The Romantasyathon Reading Diary | a weekly readathon 🥀

ELATSOE BY DARCIE LITTLE BADGER // The book felt like it was written for a younger audience than it was intended. I kept thinking what the character was doing was a little unrealistic, only to remember she was in fact 17, not 12, so it actually made sense. But. I. Kept. Forgetting. Again. And. Again. She also didn’t react to most things. She got sad news and it was “okay, what’s next?”. I understand this can be a personality type and it helped with pacing, but something more than the occasional “I feel sad, but whatever” was needed. Despite that, it was an easy-to-enjoy fantasy mystery. I liked the little nods to humour throughout the story, it made it more engaging and easy to like the characters. The plot itself was relatively straightforward, but I did enjoy the small spins on conventional supernatural creatures. The vampires not being welcome felt like a special moment.

EXO BY FONDA LEE // As the writer of my favourite series, I wanted to check out Lee’s other books despite the premise not necessarily appealing to me. Hard to determine whether I found this successful or not as it matched expectations even though I was secretly hoping for a new love. The first half is exactly what the synopsis promises and it showcases Lee’s skill in world-building, but it was the second half which felt more impressive for the ability to add to politics, emotions and the world. I think Lee is very talented and you can see the promise of her potential in the second half. It didn’t make it my cup of tea still and, sadly, the characters didn’t have a lasting impression. There was one thing I hated as well; the romance. It felt so forced and unnecessary.

*cricket sounds*

DEATH OF A DENTIST BY M. C. BEATON // Simply, not for me. It was successful at what it wanted to be, like a daytime crime show. I only had the book because of a gift. Thankfully it was easy to follow and had some different personalities. I just struggled to care about any of it.

COURT OF THE VAMPIRE QUEEN BY KATEE ROBERT // The Romantasyathon Reading Diary | a weekly readathon 🥀

★★★★★

★★★

★★★

RESERVATION DOGS S2 // Season 2 confirmed it as one of my favourite ever shows. I love the music, the characters, the filming style, the message and more. All of it. It feels like being part of a friendship group, sometimes serious, sometimes fun. I love it.

OUR FLAG MEANS DEATH // This took me a while to get into but by the end, I did enjoy it. It is silly which I do like but it felt a little generic for such a unique concept. I think the plot actually won me over in the end as Stede truly became a Captain by the end.

ROMANTIC GETAWAY // I love Romesh a lot, but I didn’t like this show. It went from humour to seriousness when it should have leaned more toward one and fully embraced it. I was glad when it was over. Romesh is still perfect though.

I HATE SUZIE // This show was really good at following a messy female character, unflinching in allowing her to express big emotions. In this way, it was a great show, but I think I was expecting a comedy of some sort and I had to reshift my narrative. Suzie was unlikeable to an extent as well. In some ways, it is what made the show good but it felt too apologetic at times. Realistic in its own way as that was how she was taught to act, yet a little tiresome. On a technical level, I liked it but the actuality of watching occasionally felt like hard work?

★★★★

★★★

★★★★

★★★★

HOUSE OF THE DRAGON S1 // I finally watched the game of thrones prequel and I enjoyed it as expected. It was a little choppy but given the nature of the book it’s based on, no surprise. I was shocked to discover my favourite scenes were typically based around the king. Paddy Considine’s acting was incredible and if you’ve seen it, you can guess what scene is *the* scene. I liked how it made mediocrity an interesting trait, even the mirroring of when he and Rhaenyra each killed an animal in episode 3 felt powerful. It was the other characters that I got emotionally attached to though but I hope it remains unafraid to make characters lose.

WELCOME TO CHIPPENDALES // The rise and fall of a male strip club, focusing on the people behind the business. The character types were subtly different from the typical ones included in these kinds of stories so it gave this one a welcome edge. I have a soft spot for *SPOILER* the human way it showcased the downfall. Whilst the rise was about being smart, the fall was built on pettiness.

YOU S4 PART 1 // The Romantasyathon Reading Diary | a weekly readathon 🥀 (I haven’t watched part 2 yet, please no spoilers)

THE SEX LIVS OF COLLEGE GIRLS S1 // This was such an entertaining show. It is a teen drama full of love, failures and friendship. Not necessarily something new, but the tonality provided fun, fresh voices. It was comedic and buoyant in execution. I was glad to see the end of certain plotlines in season one, but I am very eager to see more from these characters.

★★★

★★★★

★★★★

★★★★

CLARK // This was such a quirky show and I loved it for all the differences. It was chaotic and Clark was a unique character to follow, at once lovable and frustrating. All his antics were entertaining and the way he viewed life was almost aspiring in his carelessness (until you saw the consequences). I wouldn’t have any improvements for it. It was exactly what it wanted to be and I enjoyed that. But, it still isn’t something I will be raving about forever due to my personal taste. Still, I am glad I watched it and recommend more people looking into it.

DAISY JONES & THE SIX // The show the book community had long been anticipating. It was a good adaptation. It completely brought to life the setting and music as I imagined it. The plot and characters were very close to how I pictured too, only factional differences which made the plot feel a little more generic. Therefore, I still feel the book was more special, even though I had hoped the show was going to elevate what the book gave. Nonetheless, I loved how everything was brought to life and that last episode was more emotional than I expected (I didn’t find the book that sad tbh).

THE SUMMER I TURNED PRETTY // I adored this show so much more than I expected. Often with teen shows, comedy is used to bring excitement to it, but this show took every emotion seriously and it felt heartfelt because of it. I also loved this because teen girls’ emotions get enough belittlement so they deserve an unapologetic spotlight. The aesthetic of the show was very satisfying from location, music, cinematography to pacing. It was well-made and I actually liked the love triangle. It felt more about timing than vying over Belly. Plus, it gets audiences talking.

A LEAGUE OF THEIR OWN // One of the strongest written shows I’ve watched and it is such a shame that it is only getting one more season. Whilst it could have been a story of isolation, it felt like an empowering story about community. Max, in particular, was a great character and the story gave her the chance for full expression; the pain, the joy and the determination.

favourite posts I’ve posted

from the blogosphere

End-Of-Year Content:

Recommendations:

Other:

What books have you read so far in 2023? Have you found any new favourite books? What did you think of the Daisy Jones & The Six adaptation? Any favourite characters or songs?


31 thoughts on “The First Quarterly Wrap-Up | confession: i love reading

  1. I admire you being able to wrap-up a whole quarter and make it make sense and keep it fresh! I’d just ramble on at one point and then loose the plot haha
    I was very happy to hear you liked Making a Scene (which is on my TBR) and The Atlas Paradox (which is a series in general that I very much enjoy). In general, love that you had such joy reading! I’m also trying to read something daily, even if it’s just a page or two, and it has been good. I think I’ve read more already now than in the previous years at this point.
    Loved reading all your thoughts!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha thank you, I’m not used to reading so many books so it was certainly easier when I first started these quarter wrap-ups 😆 I do love a good ramble from time to time though!!
      I really hope you enjoy Making A Scene, I loved it and highly recommend the audiobook too.
      The Atlas Series is a lot of fun. I enjoy seeing where the characters will go next. I will patiently wait for the last book now.
      Thank youuu 🥰
      Daily reading is such a nice routine to get into~~ a moment of calm for yourself. And you are right it doesn’t have to be lots of pages, just a couple. I’m glad it helped you make time for reading.
      Thank you so much!! 💗💗

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Firstly thank you so much for mentioning my anticipated books posts ❤️❤️ and secondly yay that you’ve been enjoying your reading so much lately, thats wonderful. Also good luck with NaNoWriMo, I didn’t realise it ran in April too. I’m sure you’ll do wonderfully ❤️❤️

    Ooh your favourites of the quarter are so varied genre wise. I’m glad you adored such different books. I’ve seen the Thornchapel series mentioned before but not recently. I’m glad you enjoyed the whole series in the end. And I can’t believe I haven’t read anything by T. Kingfisher yet 🙈 I’m glad you enjoyed the experience though. And of course I’m thrilled that you enjoyed the Jade War novella.

    No 😭 I can’t believe after such a long wait Hell Bent was a let down. I’m so worried now as I still need to read it. And I feel for you as I know how excited you were for it ❤️❤️ I’ll let you know how I find it when i get a chance to read it.

    Somehow I’ve only seen two of the same shows as you 🙈 and we’ve already mentioned one of them. I’m glad you enjoyed House Of Dragons!! I really enjoyed it. My dad keeps saying it wasn’t as gripping as GoT but I think in some ways it was more so. Not as a whole but if you compare just the first season of both then I’d pick Dragons.

    Yay I’m glad you enjoyed Daisy Jones, especially the music as I know you were looking forward to that. I’m surprised the show ended up feeling more generic as I’d have imagined it adding more – due to the interview format of the book – if anything.

    Omg that’s so weird. I just counted your books to compare and it’s 18…which is the same number as I’ve read so far this year 😅 unfortunately the last four have been a letdown but before that I mostly enjoyed all of them. I loved The Stolen Heir which is wonderful as not liking something linked to Cruel Prince would have devastated me. It was so addictive that I flew through it though, even though I had a persistent headache when I picked it up.

    Once again good luck with NaNo & I hope you continue to have a wonderful reading year.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Of course, it was so wonderful seeing all the books and I loved how it was set out too 😍😍
      Definitely yay for enjoying reading! It’s been a great feeling~~ getting lost in my books!
      Thank you soo much 💗 (I think I will need it 😂)! I think that do two camps every year, one in April and June?

      True, actually I haven’t stayed in one genre for my favourites. It keeps things fresh at least!
      Thank you… Thornchapel is quite a unique experience that definitely focuses on romance, but I think it was the writing that I adored most. I hope to read more from the author.
      Hopefully you will be able to try out T. Kingfisher soon. The book was a little different to what I expected but delightful perfectly describes the feel of it. I will be intrigued to read the darker books by her.
      Thank you, there is another green bone saga novella coming out as well now. The last book in this universe though 😭

      Hell Bent was a little disappointing and I couldn’t believe it! I still enjoyed it but it only felt average, you know.
      I seriously hope you enjoy it, I know two readers who adored it. It’s a shame for me, but I am excited to hear your thoughts. Fingers crossed it works better for you.

      House of the Dragon was really entertaining. Oohh interesting, I hadn’t actually compared it to GoT in that sense yet. Like you say, in terms of first seasons House of the Dragon might have the edge! I think because it focused on less people/locations than game of thrones, you got more satisfying plot moments at a quicker rate, if that makes sense.

      Daisy Jones was a really good watch still. I was surprised the show felt more generic, Jan said that the show cheapened some of the relationships to create more drama and I agree with that.

      18 is our lucky number 🎊 it is a shame about the last four books though, I hope the next four are extra special to make up for it. I am sooo glad you loved The Stolen Heir, it feels slightly risky with a new direction in a world you love. Glad it worked this time!!

      Thank you sooo much Charlotte ❤️❤️ hope you are having a great month so far 🥰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Aww thank you ❤️❤️ next year I may try to limit it to a top 25 like the first time I did it but who knows 😅

        Yay I’m so glad to hear it. Its definitely lovely when you relax & truly get lost in one.

        Aww I’m sure that’s not true, you’ll do amazingly. Oh really? I thought there was one in winter sometime but I could be wrong.

        That’s true, varying genres can definitely help sometimes.

        Ooh do they have other books then? I’ll have to check. And look into the series as well. It’s wonderful when books are written in a way you adore.

        Thank you. I get the impression that their books can vary a lot but I generally always see good things. I hope you enjoy the darker ones when you read them.

        Ah well I hope you enjoy it then. I’m sorry to hear its the last. It could always change though. Lots of authors end up revisiting worlds or characters in the end.

        That’s such a shame. It should have been spectacular with a journey to hell!! I’m so sorry ❤️❤️
        Aww thank you. I’ll definitely share them with you.

        Yes that makes sense. I suppose it’s also why as a whole GoT could be preferred by some people as there is more variety in characters there. But i always found that family fascinating so having the focus on them works for me.

        I still plan to watch it but need to get the book out of the library first. I’m not sure who that is but that does sound like the sort of thing showrunners would do.

        It must be 🎉 aww thank you ❤️ that would be lovely. Its left me wary to start again tbh. Plus i have a headache that won’t go lately so I haven’t read in over a week 😪 so true but I guess I adore the world & her take on the fae enough to love it. I’ve seen other positive reviews too although also a few saying it couldn’t compare to the original. I adored both though.

        Thank you ❤️❤️ besides the headache it’s been OK. I saw the Dungeons & Dragons film last night and was surprised to really love it so that was good. I hope you’re having a great month too.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Oohh good luck with sticking to 25 books 😂

          Tysm ❤️ yeah, November is the original month, the “camps” are add ons.

          Yeah Sierra Simone has a fair few books out, Priest being the most popular one.

          T Kingfisher does seem to writer a range. She is a popular author so hopefully all good. Thank you. 💛

          Thank you. True, they could be more. I will be ready for that spin off series 😂

          I know 😔 but I look forward to hearing your thoughts on Hell Bent ❤️

          True, it could work as a strength or weakness depending on the individual. But definitely a solid prequel series and I really like the family focus too, they have a lot of history!!

          Hope you enjoy both!!

          Aw.. That’s a shame. Maybe rereading a favourite could be nice as well. Oh no, the headache sounds painful. Hopefully it goes soon!
          That’s wonderful that her world is so captivating 😍 glad others loved it too and you adored both, that’s what matters!

          Good ❤️❤️ that movie did look a lot of fun and glad you enjoyed it so much. I’ll have to check it out at some point!
          Tysm 🥰

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Thank you. Ill need it 😂😂

            Ah that explains my confusion 🙈

            I’m not sure if I’ve heard of that one 🤔 unless I just skipped passed it due to the cover 🙈

            Yes hopefully 🤞

            Ooh well hopefully it’ll happen!!

            Thank you ❤️ I just hope I still adore Darlington.

            Yes with strong characters it can definitely work well. And their history should be a fascinating one. I’d love to learn more about some of the other families one day too

            Thank you.

            I’ve started rereading Kingdom Of The Wicked before finally picking up the finale ❤️❤️
            Thank you. It’s still there slightly but a lot better than it was.
            Aww thank you. I love her take on the fae so much.

            Ooh I think you’d like it too. It was definitely fun. Made me laugh a few times. There was an interesting mix of characters too.

            Liked by 1 person

            1. 😂🍀

              It has been quite talked about, but I prefer the floral cover that you can get in the UK for Priest.

              I hope you still adore Darlington. He was a little different but still as charming.

              True, I mean they could be endless history surrounded them so a lot of opportunity.

              Aw.. Great plan. I hope the finale is a good one for Kingdom of the Wicked.
              I am glad you are feeling better ❤️❤️

              Aw.. Good. I look forward to watching it. Hopefully one of the streaming services gets it in eventually as I don’t think I have time for the cinema at the mo. 😊

              Liked by 1 person

              1. I just googled it and yes I agree, definitely a better cover.

                I guess that makes sense considering where he is and has probably been through.

                Yes definitely.

                I really enjoyed it thank you ❤️❤️ and thanks again

                Aww I’m sure they’ll get it in eventually. I hope you enjoy it whenever you manage to see it.

                Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so glad that you enjoyed reading this much in these three months! It feels so good to get back into the habit of reading everyday, even if it’s just a few pages.
    The Summer I Turned Pretty keeps coming up and so far I wasn’t sure if I wanted to watch it, but you convinced me that I should check it out. I think I’ll wait until summer though. 😄
    I still haven’t seen Daisy Jones haha, but I’m happy to see that it was a great adaptation, even if it didn’t exceed expectations.
    Thank you for sharing my post! I hope you’ll have a wonderful April, and good luck with Nano! 💛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank youu 🥰 it definitely feels good to be able to daily read, it doesn’t have to be a lot like you say.
      I wasn’t sure if I was going to watch The Summer I Turned Pretty either, but I just did it spontaneously. The plot is nothing too special but the feel of the show was very cosy and beautiful. It will make a good summer watch, I hope you enjoy it 💛
      Daisy Jones was an enjoyable watch. I’m glad I can finally hear the songs from the book. Hope you enjoy this show as well!
      Of course 💗 thank you soo much, I wish you a lovely April too and I will definitely take the luck for NaNo 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow, I am in awe of you staying this organized with a whole quarter to wrap up, Sophie! 🤣 My writing would have been all over the place, especially considering how many things you read and watched in this first part of 2023…

    Anyway, I LOVED this!!! Although we don’t see eye to eye on The Atlas Paradox, your rants on The Burning God and Hell Bent where a balm to my wounded soul because YES!! How could those sequels be such horrific disappointments??? 😭 “avoid if you haven’t read the previous books” really is the perfect description – although I’d actually suggest avoiding Hell Bent even if you liked Ninth House 🙈🙈 But I’m glad you at least liked Turner!

    And you’ve watched so many great shows as well! I also really liked The Summer I Turned Pretty – despite not being a huge fan of the books lol – and I ADORED Daisy Jones & The Six!! 🥰 It was such a faithful adaptation and I’m still listening to the music over and over again to determine a favorite song. So ask me again in about two weeks, I guess? 😂 Like you, though, I think I nonetheless prefer the book. At least a little bit… I can’t tell you exactly why, but somehow, the reading experience was even more emotional than the viewing experience, and I obviously love getting emotional!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Quarterly wrap-ups were a lot easier when I read like 3 books a month 😅 I try to update as I go now and hope for the best 🤣 writing all over the place can be fun at times though!!

      Thank youuu Naemi 💙 haha two ends of the spectrum for Atlas. But I am both sad and comforted that TBG and Hell Bent let you down too. It was a crying shame for those two 😭 they had all the potential and I feel like the burning god was close in some ways!
      Haha now the question is if I will read the third and final book for ninth house. Logically it makes sense to leave it behind now but I may still take the dive 😅

      I did watch a fair few shows (thank you amazon prime trial) and luckily they were mostly enjoyable 🥰
      The Summer I Turned Pretty was surprisingly enjoyable and I have heard the general consensus that the show is much better than the book. Who knew it could happen?!? 😆
      I am so happy you liked Daisy Jones, it was such an aesthetic show to get lost it and I loved the music. I am trying to listen to the whole album too… I have got very far yet but Look At Us Now and More Fun To Miss stand out so far.
      The book definitely had the edge for me, there was something it had that the show didn’t. Haha I love being emotionally devasted too, you are not alone!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m really glad to hear you enjoyed House of the Dragon as well and you’re so right about Viserys. He doesn’t really feel like a main character all the time because you have all the other characters with much more “powerful” personalities to steal the spotlight. Yet he is still at the center of it all and really important, and Considine should be getting an Emmy for that performance 😱

    I haven’t read most of the books you mention but I’m glad you enjoyed so many of them this quarter! I just read The Atlas Paradox in March and must say I wasn’t a fan, but I also didn’t like the first one so I should probably just accept defeat with that series 😅 And after both you and Naemi didn’t really like Hell Bent, I’ll probably DNF that series too.

    My own favorite book so far this year has been A Ladder to the Sky by John Boyne, but I also finally got around to reading Greywaren by Maggie Stiefvater. Thoroughly enjoyed that one and it saved the trilogy for me. For the last 100 pages, I just couldn’t put it down and I thought the very last pages very pure perfection 🥰

    Anyway, thank you so much for sharing my post, and good luck with the writing in April!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. House of the Dragon was great. I was a little skeptical when it was first announced but I actually found the characters refreshingly nuanced. Viserys really stood out to me, you are so right in how he was in relation to others. Considine deserves an Emmy and more 😍😍

      Thank you so much 🥰 it is hard to accept defeat with at series at times, you always hope the next one will be better for you. Sorry it wasn’t the best experience for you though!
      Hell Bent was disappointing. Easy enough to get through but missing the mark nonetheless! 😭

      Oohh I was looking at A Ladder To The Sky recently and thought it sounded interesting. I’m glad it was a new favourite!
      I am sooo happy you enjoyed Greywaren too, it was my favourite of the trilogy as well. Good to end on a high and now no more from those characters 😭🥰

      Of course, I adored that post 💗 thank you so much!!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I LOVE a league of their own, it’s such a fun show!! And I agree with your opinions about our flag means death. It’s fun and it’s cheesy ridiculousness.
    As for daisy jones and the six…I did not like it that much because I felt like the show cheapened the relationships and they totally removed some of my favourite moments from the book.
    I have not continued watching the summer I turned pretty, but the few episodes I did watch were adorable!
    Hope you have a great month ahead!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay another fan for A League of Their Own, it deserves all the love!
      It is nice to have the occassionally cheesy show, silly comedy is it’s own kind of comfort! I will definitely check in for the next season.
      Cheapening the relationship in Daisy Jones is actually a great way of putting it. They felt more soap-opera than human at times. I saw some quotes from the book the other day and it was confirmation that the book did it better. It is a shame it let you down 😔
      The Summer I Turned Pretty is a great easy-watch. Take me to the ocean any day.
      Thank you so much, wishing you a wonderful April too ✨💗

      Liked by 1 person

  7. The Atlas Six series is so much like marmite that I can’t even decide if I liked the first book or not – I change my mind every time I think about it haha. I’m glad to hear you found the second book better. Thank you for the mention ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Aaaah you’ve read so many books that are high up on my TBR and they all sound so good! Also, I’m so happy to see someone else loves Reservation Dogs and The Sex Lives of College Girls too—I thought I was the only one (which would be a shame since I think both are outstanding shows)! And thank you so much for sharing my post, I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahh.. I hope you get to read and enjoy these books soon 🥰
      Yay, it makes me happy to hear some love for Reservation Dogs, I didn’t know many people who watch it either but it is brilliant 😍 and The Sex Lives of College Girls is soo fun!
      Of course, it was a wonderful post 💛

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh wow, I’m glad you had a great quarter! In terms of reading I’ve been comparatively slow because of academics so I didn’t read as many books but most of them were 4-5 stars so I can’t complain 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Loved reading your quarterly wrapup! 💕 Good luck with Camp NaNoWriMo!! I had a good reading year so far, one of my favorite books was Emily Wilde’s Encyclopaedia of Faeries! 😊

    I’m still watching Daisy Jones & the Six, but I really like the show turned out already! I might have to reread the book as I had such a good time with it 🥰 Thank you so much for mentioning my post! 💜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Caro 💗 and thank you for the luck too! 🍀
      Yay! So glad you have had a good reading year, Emily Wilde sounded like such a magical read! ✨

      I am glad you are enjoying Daisy Jones & The Six, it was an entertaining show and a very aesthetic watch! Hope you continue to like it and get that reread in soon!
      Ofc, it was a wonderful post 🥰

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment