July Wrap-Up | New Wrap-Up Style and Mini-Hiatus Announcement

Hey everyone!!

I hope you all had an amazing July and all had something good happen. Today I have my wrap-up but I am going to set it out differently as I have gone off my previous style. It felt like a lot of information so let me know what you think of this style in the comments and what your favourite things are to see in a wrap-up!!

Total Read: 6

Total Pages Read: 1,747

Favourite Read of the Month: The Exact Opposite of Okay by Laura Steven

Favourite Quote: “How lost do you have to be to let the devil lead you home?”The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle

wp-1599692036426.png

The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton/🎧/⭐⭐⭐⭐

36337550

This was completely different to my usual reads but I am glad I tried something different. The writing was really amazing for a debut author and I enjoyed the mystery aspects. I thought this idea was really unique and well executed. If you like murder mysteries and creative plots I would recommend this.

wp-1599692036440.png

Descendant of The Crane by Joan He/⭐⭐⭐⭐

41219451. sy475

This was a really good Chinese-inspired fantasy which focused on political intrigue. The different plot lines all linked together well in the end and I thought Queen Hesina was a great main character as she handled the role of newly appointed Queen. The second half of the book was stronger than the first but I enjoyed the whole journey we went on with these characters. I do wish I was more strongly connected to the characters but I do recommend it to fantasy lovers especially as the world is amazing.

wp-1599692036426.png

Red, White and Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston/⭐⭐⭐⭐

41150487. sy475

This was a really fun contemporary that made me smile whilst reading it and talks about some important topics as well. This was a positive, uplifting story which wasn’t afraid to touch on the emotional side as well. I did enjoy reading this book but again I didn’t connect to the characters as much as I wanted to.

wp-1599692036440.png

Unboxed by Non Pratt/⭐⭐⭐.5

25648276. sx318

A short story talking about how grief can affect you and reflects on old-school friends. I like the way the story was told focusing on one night when the friends all met up to open a box from the past. It was fun to see the characters reflect on the past whilst also looking to the present and future. It was a sweet, emotional read. One part I really loved in the book was how it talked about coming out to people who knew you before had ‘come out’ to everyone.

wp-1599692036426.png

The Exact Opposite of Okay by Laura Steven/⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

35817737. sy475

I loved this book and I would recommend it to so many people especially teenagers as it talks about such an important topic whilst also being fun and engaging. Feminism is talked about a lot now (which is great) but I don’t think slut-shaming is talked about enough and this really brings light to the topic. But it doesn’t stop there (oh no) this book talks about so many important topics such as money, race, and sexuality. I really like how it talked about privilege. I seriously recommend this book– it had a unique narrator voice but I found it super engaging and loved the humour but it might not be for everyone.

wp-1599692036440.png

Stardust by Neil Gaiman- BBC dramatisation/🎧/⭐⭐.5

Image result for stardust audiobook drama

This was a full-cast dramatisation of the novel and I really enjoyed experiencing the background noises, cast and everything as I hadn’t seen that before. But I was slightly disappointed with the story and I actually preferred the movie *Readers all put their book down and gasped* I didn’t get to engage with writing as it was a dramatisation so I could have felt differently if I read it but I preferred the ending and characters in the movie so I was slightly disappointed unfortunately.

Favourite Thing Watched: Stranger Things 3

Stranger Things 3

I really enjoyed watching season 3 and I felt like this one had a great 80’s vibe and the soundtrack was AH-MAZING. I definitely love many of the characters and think it is really engaging to watch but that ending *ouch*

Spider-man: Far From Home

I love all the characters in this. Tom Holland’s Peter Parker is the best in my opinion and I loved Jacob, Zendaya and Jake. But this wasn’t my favourite to watch as I didn’t love the villain probably as I prefer less fantastical fighting if you know what I mean (yes I know it is all fantasy but this was more so). I did still enjoyed it a lot, just not as much as I wanted. Peter and Aunt May’s relationship is amazing though. All the relationships are amazing actually.

Killing Eve Season One and Two

I finally watched this after everybody loved it so much and I did like it. It definitely isn’t my usual type of show as I don’t watch thrillers that much but I did like it. It was dark and definitely talks about bad characters but it is interesting and well filmed.

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D Season Six

I feel like Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D lost it for a bit but I think this latest season has been much better so I am glad it has improved and I have been enjoying watching it lately. I really like the characters and the plot has been much stronger this season.

What I’ve been doing: *not following my schedule but I put up some posts nonetheless*

wp-1599692036440.png

The Latest News:

MINI-HIATUS ANNOUNCEMENT!! In August (yes I know we are already in August but you know) I will not be posting on my blog as I just want to prioritise other things and I’m not in the mood to write (hence the botched schedule this past month) and I don’t want to force myself. Plus I’ve been getting headaches all last week so think a break will be good. I will be absent on here and across social media (I might still post on Instagram though) in the pursuit of productivity elsewhere (but I might still try to reply to the comments of this post but I do apologise if I am late). I will see you all soon and happy blogging!!

Also this past month I got nominated for the friendliest blogger in Book Blogger Awards 2019 which AHH.. I am still speechless about it and cannot thank everyone enough. It means so much and I can’t believe it. Just know I am very thankful for the lovely nominations and if you decided to vote for me. I am very honoured to be included. Also, I am so sorry I didn’t get to write my own nominations post but as I said I haven’t been motivated to write so I didn’t get around to it. I do plan on doing a ‘bloggers love and appreciation’ post where I can put 100% into it. Thank you again!!

wp-1599692036426.png

Blog Posts I’ve Loved:

Emma @ AFCTL shared a post about how stories influence our decisions and I thought it was really interesting and not something you see talked about that much so I thoroughly enjoyed reading this.

Aditi @ One In A Million shared a post about diversity in YA books which is a really important topic and it is definitely worth a read.

Cait @ Paper Fury shared a post on how to stay motivated whilst writing and I certainly needed this.

Emme @ A Literacy Latte wrote about guilt within the book community and it was a great discussion which I could definitely relate to.

Kat @ Novels And Waffles began her series ‘The Bibliosmile Project‘ talking about the positive impacts of books and spreading lots of smiles which sounds amazing and I loved reading her first post. Be sure to read it and follow her blog so you can keep up with this series.

Alex @ Scribbles & Stories talked about different romance tropes in books which I thoroughly enjoyed reading and I adored the way it was set out.

Kelly @ Another Book In The Wall talked about how to use Trello to organise your blog and I had recently got Trello so it was useful to see how I could use it best.

Kathy @ Pages Below The Vaulted Sky wrote about broken, awkward, incompetent heroes which I loved and the post had plenty of recommendations for me to try out as well.

Lauren @ Twenty-Seven Letters shared a post about why you should read Aristotle and Dante and IT WAS PERFECT. It expressed why I loved it so much and was perfectly written.

Caitlin @ Caitlin Althea shared a post about why you should never compare your blogging statistics with others and it was so true and I think everyone should read this!

Olivia @ Purely Olivia shared a post talking about hyped books and it was a great discussion that covered so many thoughts and I enjoyed reading it. Plus I could relate to feeling the pressure of hyped books.

Shri @ Sun and Chai shared another brilliant discussion about siblings in books and how they are written including the lack of sibling representation. It was a really interesting read and so true– I loved it and I think you should all go and read it.

May @ Forever and Everly shared 4 things that you shouldn’t feel guilty about as a blogger and I thought it was a great post which was definitely comforting to read.

Mahana @ Sapphic Library wrote a review for How To Be Remy Cameron by Julian Winters and you know when you read a review and are just like ‘I need to read this book now’.. well this is what happened when I read this review. It was a great review and this book sounds super interesting so check it out to find out more.

Xandra @ Starry Sky Books shared a post about different discussion topics you can write about on your blog which is really helpful as it can be hard to come up with new discussion topics and there are so many great ideas here.

Favourite song of the month: West Texas by Greyson Chance (all of the portraits album really)

Plot twist of the month: I have been really in the mood for contemporaries (what?!?!)

Cutest thing my dog did this month: My dog (Layla) doesn’t like water and we were out walking her where there was this pond which had green algae on meaning she didn’t realise it was water (do you see where this is going?!?) so she walked into the water and immediately tried to get out because she hates it.

Funniest thing of the month: I was in the supermarket for the weekly shop and at the corner of the aisle they have the buffers to stop people walking in the corners etc. and I walked into one and tripped over it basically but I didn’t fall, I pulled it off in a bit of a stumble walk.  But then I heard a couple say ‘Did you see that girl trip?’ and… I was ‘that girl’. (I am pretty sure you are supposed to talk about me behind my back but hey)

I am the girl and the cat is life ⇓⇓⇓
Image result for tripping gif

Stupidest thing I did this month: I didn’t wear sun-cream and this is what my arms looked like ⇓⇓ (remember the sun-cream folks)

Related image

Writing update of the month: *nervous laughter*

Related image

 

How was July for you? What has been your favourite reads of the month? Have you got a favourite quote from any books?
Have you watched Stranger Things this month? If so, who is your favourite character?
What are your goals for August?

57 thoughts on “July Wrap-Up | New Wrap-Up Style and Mini-Hiatus Announcement

  1. I hope you have a wonderful, stress-free break, love! ❤ I'm glad to hear you enjoyed Evelyn Hardcastle! It was such a fun read for me, and I loved trying to put all the plot pieces together (I swear, there were smoke coming out of my ears by the end of it :P) And oh gosh, I trip EVERYWHERE I go, so I relate hard with your supermarket incident!

    P.S. I'm LOVING the new wrap-up layout 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Kathy!! It was really nice to have a break and just relax. Yes I like Evelyn Hardcastle it was so different and like you said it was so fun to put the plot pieces together and you are constantly thinking how is this going to end. I think it was delivered well.
      Yay I’m glad I am not the only who spends a lot of time tripping everywhere– I just seem to walk into things as well which isn’t helpful at all haha!!
      Thank you so much, I’m happy to hear it!! I prefer it over my old one as well which is good!! 💛

      Like

  2. Sorry for bombarding you with comments whilst you’re away. I’ve loved reading all of your posts though ❤ ❤ I hope you feel better soon and that the headaches stop as they can be so horrible. I’m glad we can still talk on Instagram too (:
    I’m glad you finally watched Killing Eve xD I still need to watch season one of Stranger Things… maybe once I’m done with Downton. Although there’s also How To Get Away With Murder, which you mentioned, and I’m very tempted to buy the Tudors too :L
    I’ve had three similar incidents to what you’ve mentioned in this blog :L 1) When I was younger and my grandma was house sitting some of the family went there for the day and there was a swimming pool, with a cover over it which led to my dog running onto it and falling in. 2) I ended up getting in the river to get my dog’s ball back whenever it went out of her depth (she loves water but won’t go past a certain point) and almost fell over when I lent forward to reach it (I was wearing rolled up leggings so I was trying not to go passed a certain depth either). I’m so glad I didn’t fall in :L so at least you now know you’re not the only clumsy person :L

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And the third was a bit like your shopping incident too. There was a barrier up when I went out the other day and I was wearing a light cardigan that’s sort of netted and always catches on things, so of course it caught on the barrier and dragged it along with me -_- I really need to be more careful :L

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No it’s completely fine– thank you so much for taking the time for reading my posts and commenting. It is really nice and I appreciate it so much. Thank you!! 💛 It makes me so happy to hear that you have enjoyed my posts!!
        I have been feeling better– I think a combination of the heat, staring at a screen and maybe feeling stressed was what did it and I feel better after a break. I am back but maybe a bit less active then before. I am glad we get to talk on Instagram as well– it has been so nice!! 💛
        Yes me too– I enjoyed watching it and seeing what everyone was on about!! 😊
        Stranger things is really good and the characters and storyline is great!! Yes so many great shows to watch, it is hard to know where to start 😂 good luck deciding!!
        Oh no poor dog!! It is so weird watching them fall but they can get back up easily which is always good!! I’m glad to hear my dog isn’t the only one falling into water 😂
        Aww.. having to go in to get your dogs ball is very dedicated and that would have be dangerous as you risk falling in. At least you didn’t fall but it does make me feel better to know I’m not the only clumsy one 😂
        I am very familiar with those cardigan that get caught on everything!! Oh no it got caught on the barrier– those cardigans can be very awkward 😂 it is hard to be careful with them!!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. That’s fine (: I do worry about people thinking ‘OMG what the hell is she doing?’ when I catch up on everything in one go though. I do try to just like a few things instead but with a lot I can’t help but comment :L

          I’m glad you’re feeling a bit better. Yeah I can understand that. That’s kind of what happened to me when I took my break although that wasn’t what was causing my headaches, I think it was the cause of my sleeping problems. Well I look forward to reading your posts then 😀 I’m trying to balance catching up on mine as well as spacing them out so they last a while so I’ll see how that goes. Yes it has (: it’s nice being able to message you so easily xD 💕

          Yes a lot of people do think so, so I’ll definitely check it out eventually. Thank you. I’m sure I’ll manage somehow. My TV schedule is really quiet right now besides Downton catch up.

          Yeah I couldn’t believe it when it happened. She was fine though and I think it only slightly sank, it was too strong a cover to completely fall in. I expect a lot do it at times :L

          Oh it’s fine, it wasn’t deep or particularity fast. I just didn’t want to fall as I had my clothes on and was trying to avoid going passed my knees as my leggings were just rolled up. You’re definitely not the only clumsy one. I’m so clumsy that I walked into my bed… and broke my toe /: Yes it was so embarrassing and they can be such a pain. I love them though as they’re so light to wear in the heat. But yeah, they are rather catch prone too :L

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Haha I think the same when I am catching up 😂 aww.. that’s so sweet, I really appreciate it!! 😊

            Thank you!! Yes it can all make a difference, that’s why breaks are so important for you. It’s a shame sleep is causing you to have headaches 😞
            Thank you!! Yes I am trying to get better at balancing everything. Hopefully we will both balance it all!! 😂 It really has been 💛

            Yes it is very popular but I can see why!! Haha yes you will did to add some new shows to your list 😂

            Aw.. It’s good that she was fine and the cover held up. Yeah I bet a lot of dogs do it 😂
            I get that and I think I’ve done it before with wellies but it is hard to balance as the floor is so slippery. Oh no broke your toe on the bed — that’s so bad. You must have hit it with a lot of force.
            I do think they are so comfy and stylish even if I bit annoying 😂

            Liked by 1 person

            1. I’m glad it’s not just me. And it’s fine, I love reading your posts 😀

              Yeah they can be useful at times. Oh it isn’t now. I still get them but IDK why /:
              Aww well make sure you look after yourself (: and yes, hopefully 💛💛

              Thanks (:
              Oh yeah, slippery floors are awful. And when its icy; I hate going out then. Last time it snowed really badly (which isn’t very often tbh) I nearly fell over in the garden. Yeah I guess so; I honestly don’t know how it happened.
              Yes I agree (:

              Liked by 1 person

              1. Haha nope you are not alone!! 😂 Thank you again 💕
                Yes they can be!! It is annoying you still get them, I wish they would go!! Thank you so much, you too 💛💛
                Yes icy surfaces can be horrible– I wish for the power to teleport when it is icy 😂 oh no that’s horrible and it always hurts when you fall over. The fact that is it rare when the weather is dangerous is good but it does mean we are poorly prepared 😂

                Liked by 1 person

                1. Its fine 💕💕
                  Thank you, so do I. I’ve always had them to some degree though /:
                  I’d never thought of it but that would be awesome :L and rather vital in those circumstances. Yes that’s true, I can’t believe how much havoc it causes whenever the weathers bad. I do like the snow tbh but it’s not worth it considering how much chaos it causes.

                  Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment