Looking Back at Some of My Past Writing Ideas | eekkk !

Hey everyone!

As I’ve mentioned a few times on my blog, I like writing and try my best to, you know… write. I have only been interested in writing for the past 5 years. Before that, I legit hated writing. When I somehow magically fell in love with the idea of writing, I used to write down every idea I had (more or less). So, you can see where this is going… I thought it might be fun to share my favourite ‘now rejected’ writing ideas.

I would just like to emphasise that they are very undeveloped ideas and I came up with them as a ‘new writer’ when I was young. Not to say, young people can’t have great ideas. I just wasn’t one of those young people. Obviously, I don’t hate the ideas completely, or else I wouldn’t be sharing them on my blog. But, I will never write or develop these ideas, so I’m not in love with them either.

side note: I made some fake book covers on Canva as the post was looking a little blank. I don’t see my career in cover designs taking off soon but hey.

my list of old writing ideas

Idea One: Not Quite Love At First Sight

This is a romance.

We follow two narrators who are a couple about to be married. One of them is blind. They are a very happy and sweet couple with a few ups and downs, as would be natural around wedding planning.

The twist is that through the main characters, we see their friends’ rocky relationship. Full of breakups, fights and your typical *drama*. It is a romance told through the other couple as well as a (hopefully) fun ‘we are about to be married’ story.

How I think I came up with the idea:

When I was younger, I loved Guide Dogs. I went on two tours around their training centres, read their books and did my own little ‘project’ on them. I even wanted to be a Guide Dog Trainer at some point. Hence I wanted to write from a main character who was blind as I was reading a lot about blind and partially sighted people’s experiences. Then, I always loved the idea of following a happy couple who were still together and growing. You don’t get a lot of them in media.

my thoughts on it now:

I am intrigued by following two couples in different phases of their lives. Especially as you are experiencing one of the couples through the first couple. I think it has the potential for a unique approach, almost like you are talking about your friends with the narrators. However, the execution would be difficult. It would be hard to fit two couple’s journeys in one book and to get the balance between them right. The narrators would obviously be the main couple, so I would also worry the other couple may feel like a pointless addition. There would be a lot to think about.

Nonetheless, I think there could be potential here. It would be a fun romance with plenty of love, friendship and drama, but open to serious conversations too. Such as pressure around marriage and prioritising what a healthy relationship should look like. The best romances in real life aren’t about a dramatic getting together but finally convincing your partner to watch that show they hate with you.

Seeing as there is a lot to think about and it is a bit outside my comfort zone, I wouldn’t write this one. I might read it if it has good reviews, and I knew the tropes involved aka, it better be sunshine and grumpy.

I would like to read more about blind people, whether fiction or non-fiction, going forward. I have a few books on my TBR but let me know if you have any recommendations that you can trust for good representation.
image of red single line divider.

Idea Two: It’s A Feminist Story

We follow this class of students who are all assigned partners and have to work on this feminist-themed group project to present to the class.

We follow each pair who are all handling working together, uncovering bits of feminism and what it means to them. By following a classroom of students, naturally including many different identities and relationships with feminism, you can begin to look deeply into the topic of feminism.

The students will also have to navigate their relationship with their assigned partners. A variety of relationships will be explored, from awkward moments to unresolved histories.

At the end, they will show their projects to the class and share what they’ve learnt.

How I think I came up with the idea:

This isn’t the most unique or ground-breaking idea. But, I can be a sucker for feminist empowering moments, so ta-da… a book.

my thoughts on it now:

Now, as we’ve determined, I think it is slightly cliché. But, it doesn’t necessarily mean I see it as pointless. These types of conversations are always beneficial to everyone, and the more voices, the better. It would definitely need some thought about how best to include so many characters and how to do it well. In my mind, an anthology with different authors would be really cool, as the essence of the book is essentially a combination of voices and experiences.

I love the idea that it could include so many different journeys and small nuances concerning this topic. It has the potential to talk about lots of different areas personal to each individual. Through the project aspect, you could easily link past events and figures to the story too. An added bonus for me would be reading about assigned partners. Obviously, in real life, I absolutely detest it. However, in fiction, I find it interesting if people are put into situations with people they wouldn’t typically interact with.

image of red single line divider.

Idea Three: You Can See The Doctor Now

Our main character is being followed by a ghost. Not just any ghost though. Oh no… the ghost is a therapist. Of course, they would analyse every situation and all the emotions the main character goes through.

We watch the main character grow and deal with new things in their life. All the time, looking at how the ‘ghost therapist’ intervenes and helps.

Later in the novel, we would uncover what happened to the therapist and why exactly they are a ghost haunting our protagonist.

How I think I came up with the idea:

I love the ‘ghost scene’, particularly when it isn’t too serious. Just everyday people as ghosts. One of the first times I saw this was in the old movie ‘Heart and Souls’. I’d only seen it once years ago, but it was so fun and showed me what you can do with ghosts and it potentially sparked this idea. I thought a ghost therapist would encourage dealing with emotions healthily and potentially lead to some funny scenes.

my thoughts on it now:

I think it could be an interesting premise if developed well. However, I don’t know enough about being a therapist to write a book surrounding it, and I have no desire to research it.

I would be intrigued to read a premise like this. It has the potential for fun scenes as well as important ones. You could broach topics like mental health, lack of availability for therapy in society as well as the stigma around therapy. Plus, the serious topics in the MC’s life would have to be handled well. The same goes for the therapist’s past and death.

image of red single line divider.

Idea Four: Eyes ??

This is very underdeveloped, but it was my first ever idea, so I put it here for nostalgia’s sake. Let’s see if I can describe anything…

Clouds were beings. Grand beings who had a book. Some fool lost the book, and humans got it. Once they read it, they got powers in their eyes. It was genetics, so powers got passed down. The powers were related to eye colour; for example, red could mean love or lava, brown could mean earth or copper.

Years later, the book is a famous legend and now missing. People with powers are trying to find it. Different teams with different powers. Fight. Good vs Bad. Something. Something.

Clouds.

Eyes.

Clouds again.

Something happens.

The end.

How I think I came up with the idea:

I got this idea from my mum, who always said… “you’ve got green eyes like me. You’re going to be a jealous person.” She was only joking (I think), but it gave me my idea. I think it’s pretty self-explanatory how. Then clouds….. are pretty. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

my thoughts on it now:

As I’ve mentioned, it was my first idea, so I am a little nostalgic for it. Other than that, I don’t feel too strongly about it. It doesn’t have any ‘oomph’ that makes me want to know more about it as a reader or writer.

There we go. A little look into some of my old writing ideas. Now, let’s focus on the 6 ideas I actually like 😅😅.

If you write, do you remember any of your old story ideas? How many ideas want to work on right now?

Do you have a favourite of my ideas?


19 thoughts on “Looking Back at Some of My Past Writing Ideas | eekkk !

  1. They all sound like they could be interesting, but You Can See the Doctor Now sounds like a fantastic idea. I think there would be so much potential for emotional scenes but also a lot of comedy, I’d totally have read that one!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much 💕 Ahh… I am definitely intrigued by the prospect for You Can See The Doctor Now, I would hope for lots of emotion and comedy too. Thank you so much for all your kind words !!

      Like

  2. Oh my God, you MADE all those covers?!??! I cannot imagine the amount of time and effort that must have taken! And also they all look so GORGEOUS!!! All of these ideas sound so good too, especially the EYES one, it’s so unique and I’ve never heard of anything like it and I AM SO INTERESTED! You Can See The Doctor Now sounds really good too, and I would totally have picked that one up!
    The idea for this post is so GOOD and I loved reading this, Sophie!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. haha I did, it took a little while but I am very good at procrastinating things I should be doing with random stuff so ta-da 😅😅 but thank you soooo much !! 💕💕 I’m so happy you like the eyes one, I do like the concept of the powers. I think if I developed a strong plot alongside it I may be tempted to explore it more.
      Ahh… that’s so nice to hear !! Thank you so much 💕 and thank youuu for reading too !! 💕

      Like

  3. You can see the doctor seems so intriguing and I could definitely see myself picking it up ,and ahh that cover is so cute !!! I loved reading your ideas they’re all absolutely amazing💕💕

    Liked by 1 person

  4. How on earth can you not think your cover designs are good? Especially as, I imagine, you’re new to trying it out. I really love the colours on the first one. Also the ‘best-selling author of nothing’ on book two made me laugh. All of your ideas have potential though. I quite like the idea of seeing a couple from another couples perspective. Although you’re right, it would take a hell of a lot of planning. And the ghost doctor one sounds great. It could go in so many different directions and deal with so many issues too. Although I get what you mean about research into therapy. I’ve read books in the past with those sort of characters and they’ve been so unbelievable in those roles. I like the idea of gifts linked to eye colour too. Although I will admit the cloud part confused me 😅
    I honestly don’t think I can remember my first writing idea. I really need to start again sometime but it seems so daunting. Although I have had a couple of ideas lately…oddly both times when trying to sleep off a migraine 🤔 good luck with your current ideas. I’m so in awe that you have six of them!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. True it is my first time trying to design book covers so probably should be easier on myself. I found the colour decisions and making sure it was visually accessible the hardest part, I’m still not sure I got that bit 100% right !! but thank you sooo much 💕
      haha glad you appreciated the best selling author of nothing, I thought it was very apt 🤣
      Thank you so much !! I think seeing a couple through a different lens would be interesting but a lot to think about and I think it would be hard to do right.
      Ty, I definitely think the ghost doctor one has the most potential but it is one I would like to read more than write 😅 like you say, I think you need a lot of research and know-how to write a therapist character.
      Yay! Yeah the eye one isn’t very fleshed out at all and I can’t quite remember what I meant about clouds either apart from they are actual living beings in this world 😅
      I know the eyes idea was the first one I took (kind of) seriously. I hope you can start writing again, but I totally understand that it is daunting. I struggle to start on ideas even now. I’m trying to take it step by step lately. That’s so cool that you’ve had ideas recently… going to sleep, in the car or shower always seem to be prime idea times for me.
      Thank you so much, best of luck with your writing too. 💕💕

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think you did really well!! I don’t think I’d know where to start.
        It made me laugh (:
        Yeah it would be tricky to do but has a lot of potential.
        I can understand that. Plus as a reader it would surprise you!! I think so as if they’re unbelievable in that role it’s a really hard aspect to overlook.
        Oh I do that all the time. Put vague notes then re-read them and can’t remember exactly what I meant 🤣
        Thank you. I think it’s the planning part I dread the most. It seems impossible to sketch out the framework for a whole story…or series as atm my two ideas aren’t really standalones .
        I hope it’s working out for you.
        Yeah I think it’s because at those times you don’t have much else to concentrate on. Unless you mean as a driver in which case you would be focusing.
        Thank you 💗💗💗

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you so much !! 💕 Yeah definitely !! Yeah there is definitely a reason why studying for becoming a therapist takes so long, a lot of skill and technique there!!
          yes vague notes all the time !! Me too, I hate the planning stages. You have to handle so many factors and order them– it is a lot !!
          Thank you !!
          Yes I agree, your mind wanders and comes up with ideas !!
          💕💕

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Yeah I guess there is a lot to know.
            I’m glad it’s not just me 😅 Yeah plus you can’t force ideas. Yet sometimes they seem to just pop into your head from nowhere. Getting everything to fit together is hard though.
            💗💗

            Liked by 1 person

  5. This was so so fun to read! And your covers are fantastic? Like, seriously they’re amazing and fit the book’s premise so well!! I love the one for You Can See the Doctor Now, and it also has a very interesting premise. It reminds me somewhat of North of Happy by Adi Alsaid, where the main character is being “haunted” by his older brother’s ghost as he tries to cope with his passing and figure out what he wants for his life. Funny at times, serious at others, and it was just a really nice read for the most part.

    Not Quite Love at First Sight has also made me realize that I don’t think I’ve ever read a novel from a blind person’s POV, so I’d appreciate any recommendations you may have ❤✨

    I’ve been telling stories for a long time, and most of them were influenced by the media that I’d consumed around the time that I came up with the story idea. So if I read a book or watched a movie/show that I really enjoyed, I’d basically kind of take that world and imagine my own story in it, with a lot of mixing with other stuff that I liked. Some of the earliest ideas that I tried to write were basically Nancy Drew and Gallagher Girls (a series about a spy school for girls, written by Ally Carter) copycats of sorts lol. I was obsessed with those two series at the time, so I tried writing my own thriller/mystery that incorporated all the elements that I loved: lots of “sophisticated” insults & “witty” humor, kidnapping, 16 year old FBI agents (nevermind the fact that I was like 11 or 12 when I wrote this and didn’t know a thing about being 16 🤦🏾‍♀️), and an organized political gang made up of…*drumroll*…teenage boys. It’s hilarious to look back on it now 😂 Ah, the nostalgia

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much!! I’m glad you enjoyed this post, it was a little different !! ahh.. ty, I’m happy you think the covers fit the premise– sometimes it was hard to decide what to do !! 😅 I do think the You Can See the Doctor Now has potential (but I know I couldn’t execute it) purely as I think ghost books are interesting in ‘non-horror’ settings and I think it is becoming more popular. Thank you SO SO much for the book recommendation. I love the sound of North of Happy, I will definitely add it to my TBR, thank you !! Love the sound of funny and serious together !!

      I don’t have too much recommendation for a blind person’s POV yet but here is what I’ve got… ‘All The Light We Cannot See’ by Anthony Doerr (ww2 historical, recommended as I liked the book thief and I did really like it). I want to check out ‘Not If I See You First’ by Eric Lindstrom (YA contemporary). If you want another YA contemporary, I have heard of ‘Love and First Sight’ by Josh Sundquist.. (probably not one I will check out as the premise doesn’t appeal but still, you might). If you like non-fiction, I have more recs: Have Dog, Will Travel & Planet of the Blind by Stephen Kuusisto (biographies), Haben by Haben Girma (memoir) and finally There Plant Eyes, A personal and cultural history of blindness by M. Leona Godin. Goodreads has this list too– not all our main characters but still good for finding some recs, here it is !!

      I definitely think the media we are experiencing at the time affects our ideas… I noticed that when looking back at some ideas. I might even argue that putting myself in films I loved was where my love of creating stories came from 😂 I love that you used to mix stories together to create your own in your early days… so cool. Oh yeah… I remember seeing Gallagher Girls on the shelves in my library at school… some of the titles “I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You”.. LOVE IT 😂 oh yessss my entire dialogue used to be my attempts at witty banter (no plot) 😂😂 haha 16 yo FBI agent and gang of teenage boys… that’s amazing but honestly 10 yo me would have probably found the idea so cool !! I do love the nostalgia !! Thank you for sharing, I honestly loved reading it !! 💕

      Like

Leave a comment