Fiction Books Featuring Octopi šŸ™

Remarkably Bright Creatures by Shelby Van Pelt

Genre: literary fiction, mystery, magical realism

This is the book that inspired this post. I’ve heard a lot of positive reviews for this story focusing on grief and exploring the past. It even sounds like the book has the perspective of the Octopus, Marcellus. This fact alone proves the uniqueness of it. Add in the charm with emotional layers, and I’m so curious to experience this story.

The Watchmaker of Filigree Street by Natasha Pulley

Genre: historical, steampunk

The octopus in this book is not like the others on this list. For a start, it’s mechanical. But it still counts (thank you Naemi). A historical fiction following three different characters in London in 1883. I love it when you witness different characters being pulled together, especially with the mention of magic, science… and a clockwork octopus, of course.

The Mountain In The Sea by Ray Naylar

Genre: sci-fi, speculative

Even though this book is set in a reimagined world after discovering hyperintelligent octopi, it is not hard to draw how close to home this novel wants to hit. Humans immediately after discovering something new, tend to find out how they can best use it to benefit themselves and only themselves. It sounds like this book is going to circle everything wrong with this mindset and I love it.

Sea Change by Gina Chung

Genre: literary fiction

Author of Green Frog, I know this book will be a thoughtful emotional piece told in a less-than-typical way. The creative decisions will most likely explore the character’s past and emotional reactions beautifully. The addition of an Octopus is a wonderful bonus. I very much look forward to reading this book.

The Last Guest by Tess Little

Genre: mystery

This octopus, Persephone, is a murder suspect, so she wholeheartedly deserves a place on this list. A party murder mystery is always a stylish, fun way to look at suspects and power, say no more.

The Octopus and I by Erin Hortle

Genre: literary fiction, contemporary

A title with correct grammar, I could never. This book sounds like a deeply emotional story about recovery. The tranquil location, heartwarming friendships and connection between humans and animals make it sound like a transformative, hopeful read. Personal stories, like this, have the best chance of touching readers.

Beasts of Sonara by Shawn C. Butler

Genre: sci-fi

A mysterious creature in the deep blue. It can offer life or death. Oh, the possibilities, but what would truly be the fairest outcome? Do you have to kill it to save all the lives? It certainly sounds like an intriguing approach to hunting down a powerful beast.

Kraken by China Mieville

Genre: fantasy, thriller

This book technically features a squid rather than an octopus. I’m sorry, but given the magical undercurrent, I think we can be more ambiguous about what the creature in this book is. After all, didn’t the Kraken start off crab-like? Regardless this book promises a Natural History Museum adventure with cults, assassins, magic and a god. A combination I never knew I needed!

The Octopus Has Three Hearts by Rachel Rose

Genre: short stories, contemporary

This short story collection follows different pet owners each handling their own life. Their close bonds to their pets are an easy way to make me fall for them and I appreciate any story that shows how much animals (including an octopus) can mean to us. This tender exploration of emotions promises a heartfelt read.

Stories for Nighttimes and Some for the Day by Ben Loory

Genre: short stories, fantasy

Fantasy can be very effective in short stories as they tend to focus on a specific message or revelation. The fantasy allows these moments to be achieved in the most unique and intriguing ways. Sometimes the magical aspects allow emotions to be clearly explained in an approach you wouldn’t have considered before. This dark and witty collection promises to deliver on this!

Suction Cup Dreams: An Octopus Anthology

Genre: short stories, sci-fi, horror

An anthology all about octopi! Huzzah! A chance to see how different authors tackle the inclusion of an octopus in their story. Each one seems very different from their settings alone. What an intriguing project!

Repeat After Me by Jessica Warman

Genre: contemporary, magical realism, young adult

This 2024 release is a very creative way to discuss the life of a teenager, in particular losing your virginity. I don’t see many books discussing this topic and forcing you to relive it will be a curious way to face the music (so to say). I have no idea how the immortal octopus fits into this story, but again, I’m very curious about it!

Bonus: Octopi can be metaphors

These books talk about octopi but without there actually being a real-life (or mechanic) octopus in the story. Therefore I thought they deserved their own section so as not to disappoint reading seeking out the creatures, but if you are interested in using them as a bridge to another theme or simply a unique read then look no further.

Following a young girl handling the problems in her life, and how perhaps life would be easier if she were, in fact, an octopus. Young people often seek escapism from life and I love that this story doesn’t dismiss this emotion. It takes a hard look at why this is and how to, hopefully, address it.

A semi-autographical story about a man whose closest companion in his life is his dog, Lily. Sadly, her health is compromised and this is the story of how he deals with this looming fact. From how it feels to love fiercely to how difficult it can be to let things go. A funny, emotional read. You may be wondering where the octopus in this story is, you will just have to find out. I can only say, it probably isn’t what you expect.

A law student has ended up in a mental hospital after talking to a voice only he can hear. Malamock, the Octopus God. An experimental drug is offered to quiet the voice but Malamock responds to this threat. A moving story about mental illness and belief. I am most curious to see how this story concludes and discover the message along the way.

Are octopi your favourite creatures? If not, why? WHY NOT. Have you heard of these books before? Do any take your interest?


34 thoughts on “Fiction Books Featuring Octopi šŸ™

  1. I had no idea there would be so many! šŸ˜‚ I love this list! I’ve got Remarkably Bright Creatures on my TBR and I’ve only heard amazing things about it. I’ve also got Lily and the Octopus on my TBR but I know that one’s going to make me emo AF so I need to save it for a “need a good cry” moment, lol. A few others on here look/sound so interestingā€”I’ll have to keep an eye out for them. Thanks for making this very unique and awesome list šŸ˜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was surprised by how many I found too, but pleasantly so šŸ˜‚ yay šŸ™
      There has been so many wonderfully things said about Remarkably Bright Creatures, I hope we both love it!
      Lily and the Octopus sounds heart-breaking, I’m sending you luck and tissues with that one. The “I need a good cry” books can be the best reads!
      I hope you enjoy any you decide to read! There are some super unique books which I love, so happy you liked this list šŸ„°

      Like

  2. Oh my gosh, you actually wrote the octopus post!! šŸ˜‚šŸ„°šŸ˜‚ THIS IS THE BEST THING EVER!! And I’m starting to feel like I might need to read at least half of these because they sound so interesting… Especially The Mountain in the Sea! I mean, a sciency dystopian novel about creepy octopi? What’s not to like? šŸ™

    I do have to disappoint you and tell you that octopi are definitely not my favorite creatures, though, because, despite being cool, they just can’t compete with the best animals ever – owls! šŸ¦‰šŸ’™

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I did! I kept wondering how many books about octopi were there so I had to do it, especially while I have my octopus header šŸ˜‚šŸ™ I’m glad you enjoyed it šŸ˜
      I was pleasantly surprised by how interesting the premises sounded too šŸ¤£ the mountain in the sea sounded epic and poignant, I’d love to know your thoughts if you read it!

      Haha owls are high are my list of birds, very cool– I love their talons šŸ˜ I have always been more partial to aquatic creatures, orcas are probably at the top of my list though (sorry octopi šŸ™ˆ)!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, I guess I’ll eagerly be awaiting the orca sequel to this post, then šŸ˜ Even if they can’t quite compete with owls, I love how smart and majestic they are, so I definitely see where you’re coming from!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. You’re definitely not peaking, your posts are still going to be incredible. But I am very excited to see your octopus post and surprised to see how many books you managed to find.

    As I said before Remarkably Bright Creatures is the only one I knew of, although another was on my TBR I just had no idea an octopus was involved. I’d also forgotten how unique the premise of Remarkably Bright Creatures was. Including their POV sounds very unusual.

    The other I’d heard of was Watchmaker but I’d never have realised they featured in it. A mechanical one is possibly even more intriguing šŸ˜‚ plus I’ve wanted to check out a full length book by the author for a while. So far I’ve only read one short story. Although oddly if did feature some creepy water folk so is kind of on theme.

    All the rest are new to me. Its surprising how often they tend to be books that deal with emotional elements so strongly. Although the mystery novel is what truly caught me off guard. I’d never have expected an octopus to find its way into one of those. The fact that it features actors too is another bonus for me.

    And I feel silly for thinking ‘oh that names familiar’ when it turned out to be because you’d just read an arc by the author of another of these šŸ˜‚

    I’ve got to admit that a couple of these sound a bit too odd for me but a few have caught my eye too. I hope you end up loving some of these too.

    And sorry but I get the interest in them but I wouldn’t consider them to be a favourite. Fascinating to learn about and watch yes but generally I fall for the fluffy cute looking creatures (a label that ironically tends to include big cats which you definitely shouldn’t cuddle šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw.. Thank you so much šŸ„ŗ, I have a feeling you will enjoy next month’s posts too šŸ¤­šŸ§›šŸ»šŸ¦‡
      Yay, I’m glad you enjoyed this and I was surprised by how many I found too!

      Remarkably Bright Creatures has a really unique premise, it sounds very intriguing!
      Yeah Watchmaker has an octopus on the cover, a small one! I hope you enjoy more from the author then, I think another of her books featured a mention of an octopus too. She must love them!

      Most these books do sound emotional. Haha the mystery was an unsuspecting octopus find. It does have a strong setting, I hope it is a good execution too.

      Haha aw.. You remembered! It was doing this post that made me request the ARC šŸ˜

      I hope you enjoy the ones you check out. You must let me know you thoughts on them šŸ™

      Haha octopi don’t look very cuddly, I can’t fault you there šŸ˜‚ idk some big cats let people cuddle them but I probably would risk it. Snow leopards are very hard to resist though!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ooh ooh vampires??? If that’s a lie or tease I may well cry!!
        I didn’t realise they were such a popular feature within books.

        Ooh I had no idea about the other book either. And I guess I never looked too closely at the cover then šŸ™ˆ or maybe I saw a different one. Let me know if you do read either of those books.

        It’ll be interesting to see how the octopus playa into the plot too.

        Ah right. That’s cool. It’s lovely when doing research helps you discover new books.

        Thank you. I hope that you do too. And I will do. If I ever find an octopus in a book I’ll let you know too.

        I think the tentacles are kind of off putting too somehow. Suction maybe? šŸ˜‚ I know, I’ve seen videos of people playfighting with them and everything but it seems kind of mad. And they are so cute šŸ˜ I think maybe I’d cave if I had a chance to put a baby one as I’m sure I’ve seen zookeepers handle them more on shows like Animal Park. Although saying that even kitten teeth are needle sharp šŸ˜¬

        Liked by 1 person

        1. It isn’t a tease, I promise šŸ˜šŸ¦‡
          They come up from time to time, the link to the ocean helps I think. Everyone loves the ocean, lots of themes with it too!

          I didn’t either, it was Naemi who mentioned it again! šŸ˜Š
          I will šŸ„°

          Definitely šŸ™

          Thank youu ā¤ļø haha thank you, tell me about all the octopi!

          They don’t appear too welcoming šŸ˜‚ it is wild, you always think they can hurt you without meaning to just because of their size and strength!
          I think I’ve heard of experiences at zoos like that too, it would be very cute šŸ¤— haha they probably would sting a little bit!

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Yay šŸŽ‰
            That’s true, it is a setting that offers lots of possibilities within various genres.

            Ah well I’m glad she helped you discover the link.

            ā¤ļøā¤ļø

            Yes that’s very true too. I’m going to have to watch one of the underwater nature documentaries to see if I can get to your level of enthusiasm for them šŸ˜‚ and if not at least they’ll still be fascinating to watch.
            Oh wow, really? I’ve seen keepers do it but not the public. I’ll have to look into it.

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Indeed šŸŒŠ
              Yay, I love underwater documentaries. The weird and the wonderful (and no surprise spider shots) šŸ˜‚
              Oh maybe I am thinking of the keepers then, I don’t know enough about it. They do experiences but maybe just feeding for smaller animals. I’ll have to look into it now as well šŸ˜‚

              Liked by 1 person

              1. So much of the wildlife is so colourful too šŸ˜ and I wouldn’t be surprised if sea spiders are a thing šŸ˜‚ but so far I haven’t seen any either.

                I have seen ones with big cats but I think it’s usually feeding them through an enclosure. I definitely need to find out if cub interaction is avaliable anywhere though šŸ˜‚ oh and at Longleat you can ride in the feeding truck so all the big cats and wolves chase you. No idea what’s it like but sounds exciting šŸ˜… and scary where tigers are concerned (I love them as they look so beautiful but I’ve heard too many tales of the damage they can do)

                Liked by 1 person

                1. Indeed! Me neither tbh, but I feel like they would look less creepy at least šŸ˜…

                  There are a few options for big cats then šŸ˜, it is nice to see them in big areas. Ones when they chase you is intense but nice to see up close. I sometimes feel like some zoos are poorly maintained which feels sad, and like you say safety has to be important for everyone’s sake. No accidents please. šŸ˜… Let me know if you find any cub interactions, although the more I think about it, the less likely I think it is. It wouldn’t be nice for the parents, maybe only if something happened that had caused them to be seperated.

                  Liked by 1 person

                  1. Let’s hope so šŸ˜‚

                    There do seem to be. I know what you mean and feel the same. If I went to a zoo that felt that way it would put me off going. You want to know that their animals are cared for. And that the enclosures are safe for your sake too. I will do. I’ve seen the presenters on Animal Park doing it during their check ups but that’s the closest I’ve seen so far.

                    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi! I’m just leaving some comments on other blogs to let people know that WordPress is now selling our content to AI companies to train their models. They have auto opted everyone in to be sold, and if you don’t want to be included having your work sold to train AI, you need to go to your settings – general – privacy and opt out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Briana, thank you for ensuring I know. It is troubling and everyone deserves to be aware, I will share your post on my wrap-up to help spread the information.
      Thank you so much for the information and informing me how to opt out too.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment