The Second Quarterly Wrap-Up | my YA renaissance

🍯April – June 🍋

sorry it’s late. Not due to lack of organisation but rather wanting to keep the series together and I hadn’t finished the hunger games yet.

And then I was disorganised and it is now extremely late.

note: I have not grouped the books by my enjoyment level this time.

THE HUNGER GAMES TRILOGY BY SUZANNE COLLINS // If I hadn’t watched the movies first, I would have struggled with the writing style. Picturing the movies alongside the words gave me the atmosphere completely. But as it was like experiencing an extended movie, I had a thoroughly good time. I love these stories and I can now appreciate how good of an adaptation the movies were, in fact, I found myself preferring the slight changes the movies made. However, the books paid closer and more consistent attention to the physical and emotional costs of the events. It was worth getting to know the extra details.

THE BALLAD OF SONGBIRDS AND SNAKES BY SUZANNE COLLINS // review (thought-dump) coming soon (I hope).

THE FOLK OF THE AIR TRILOGY BY HOLLY BLACK // I actually went into this series feeling quite sceptical but I liked it. I always saw it talked about like a romance but I wouldn’t call the series a romance. In fact, the romance scenes were my least favourite making The Queen of Nothing lesser in my mind. I preferred seeing Jude navigate the toxic world and how it changed her. It was fascinating and thrilling. I feel like the world would have suited an adult book, yes, no?

HOW THE KING OF ELFHAME LEARNED TO HATE STORIES BY HOLLY BLACK // I would not say this is a necessary read, it is a quick bonus to look closer at Cardan. I think reading it immediately after finishing the trilogy maximised my enjoyment from it. I think my favourite part was how it used the stories to create an atmosphere AND highlighted different stages in Cardan’s life. That was a wonderful creative decision.

THE STOLEN HEIR BY HOLLY BLACK // The first half of this book was a struggle. Part due to my focus and the other because I felt it was a bit recycled. The relationship dynamic was opposite sides, mixed with feelings and trust issues. Deja vu? Thankfully the second half, I felt like I got into the plot more, the character opened up ad talked, showing individualism. The ending had a strong finish too. I’m glad the sequel will be Oak’s POV because I actually felt like this one should have been.

CONFESSIONS OF AN ALLEGED GOOD GIRL BY JOYA GOFFNEY // ✨A must-read for YA contemporary fans.✨ It had an important message you don’t see talked about enough, the characters were lovable and the main romance was perfectly sweet. I read it in one day and had no regrets.

FREEDOM SWIMMER BY WAI CHIM // Focusing on a specific part of Chinese history, inspired by the author’s father. It was great to learn about what pushed people to try such a dangerous swim and how the novel highlighted friendship really well. It was a quick read with easy writing. Whilst I didn’t always feel absorbed in the story, I am so glad I read it.

THE FAITHLESS BY C. L. CLARK // Don’t look me in the eye as I say this, but I was a little disappointed by this book. 😭 Only a little. See my mid-year freak-out tag for more details.

THE ADVENTURES OF AMINA AL-SIRAFI BY SHANNON CHAKRABORTY // When I started it, I felt like it had a special spark but by the end, it had faded into a pretty generic plot. Either way, I loved the narration style (the audiobook is brilliant) and who Amina was. It was a fun adventure (pirates forever) but I hope the next book uplifts the plot. I’d love another narrator and for them to have conflicting accounts.

RED RISING BY PIERCE BROWN // I was pleasantly surprised by this book. As much as it was well-loved, I didn’t have the highest expectations but I really enjoyed it. Some aspects weren’t handled as well as I would have liked (eg. sexual assault or the social structure), but what the plot was able to discuss and risk was powerful. It had lots of well-written throat-in-your-mouth scenes and a good revolutionary character to follow. The secrecy, the fights, the relationships. An amazing debut novel in that sense.

WHAT MOVES THE DEAD BY T. KINGFISHER // This wasn’t a story I will remember but still impactful in the time I spent with it. A short haunted house story. Most of it was the classic structure with only an edge of fear, but I love how it focused on fungi. An interesting organism that goes alongside the haunted genre very well.

SO YOU WANT TO TALK ABOUT RACE BY IJEOMA OLUO // I loved the writing voice so much. It was confident, accessible and great for an introductory look into race relationships. It is one of those books that everyone could benefit from reading and, again, the writing really made it a strong read for me.

BEFORE I LET GO BY KENNEDY RYAN // A family-centred romance, full of emotion. It was different to romances I’ve read in the past, but I loved how it deeply explored its themes. From mental health and its effects on romances, to how parents have more to risk when pursuing love. It made for a heavier read but it gave the ending a greater sense of triumph. I’d have been happy with the ending going either way, as the journey was the important thing, but the ending we had was well-earned.

CARRIE SOTO IS BACK BY TAYLOR JENKINS REID // Honestly, I don’t think this book had anything new to say. I felt like it repeated what Evelyn Hugo, but said less and poorer. Obviously, it had a different setting and different characters, unique to an extent. I did like the idea of following an ageing athlete and don’t get me wrong, I did like parts, but most of the story felt very surface-level.

THE NO-SHOW BY BETH O’LEARY // Beth O’Leary premises are always a little quirky, then you read them and it is like “Huh, bit basic”. Yet, there is something undeniably charming about them. Her writing always makes me think of Bridget Jones weirdly, so I recommend her books to rom-com lovers. I still like the little twists to the plot, although with this one I feel it was more false advertising than a twist, but I liked it. It was very heartfelt and managed different character voices well.

★★★

★★★

★★★★

★★★

THE RINGS OF POWER // I enjoyed this show as a whole, but mostly for Galadriel & Halbrand. I really liked their characters. Naturally, this shows draws comparisons to The Lord of The Rings and nothing is ever going to be like those films. I don’t know enough about the lore to unpick the new series, but from an entertainment standpoint, enjoyable. Plus, the visuals were beyond outstanding!

SHADOW AND BONE S2 // Another show I surprisingly enjoyed. The plot was nowhere near to what it should have been but after season 1 who would’ve expected it to be. It is high-budget fan fiction, and I just get a lot of simple comfort and joy from it.

THE BOYS S3 // The best season of the boys so far. Mostly because Hughie and Butcher were less annoying. The show is carried by Homelander in my opinion and how he handles different emotions. I weirdly love watching his character, even if deeply disturbing. The plot was really gripping this season as well.

FOUR WEDDINGS AND A FUNERAL // Never seen the movie but this was a really cute rom-com series. Craig, Gemma and Kash were easily likeable. I recommend to rom-com lovers.

★★★

★★★★

★★★

★★★★

JURY DUTY // A really unique show and you could question the morals, but it was great to watch. I love seeing the actors adapt firsthand. It was funny, borderline ridiculous and surprisingly heartwarming. Ronald came across as a lovely person which is a miracle in itself.

THE SEX LIVES OF COLLEGE GIRLS S2 // I love this show! Different personalities can shine and it is a fun college setting. I much preferred the relationships this season compared to the first. I’m going to miss watching it.

YOU S4 PART 2 // This season did not go where I thought it would go. It was entertaining don’t get me wrong but my favourite thing would have to be the setup for the next season. He is untethered now. Please give me your strangest predictions.

ABBOTT ELEMENTARY S2 // I loved this season. It is so heartwarming and I fell for the characters (and the romance) even more this time.

★★★★

★★★★★

★★★

★★★★★

QUEEN CHARLOTTE // My favourite of the Bridgerton shows/seasons. It was less like a rom-com, focusing on darker plots/themes but it really hooked me. It was endearing and emotional. I loved seeing Queen Charlotte’s character; her strength and complexities. She was a great, wonderful character to follow.

TED LASSO S1-3 // As disturbing as it is to humanise football, this is a lovely show. It has great characters, quirkiness, and a little bit of cheese. I found it very funny and heartwarming. I can see why so many people love it. I aspire to be like Roy Kent in everything I do!

XO, KITTY // American teen show mixed with K-Drama? I think you will be on either end of the spectrum for this show. Luckily, I had a blast. It was the perfect midnight watch. It is cute, quick and engaging.

NEVER HAVE I EVER S4 // Devi is my favourite main character and I loved seeing her story conclude. It was a very satisfying watch, I just love Devi!

favourite posts I’ve posted

posts from the blogosphere

How have you been? Have you read The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes? If so, write me an essay about your thoughts. please and thank you.


25 thoughts on “The Second Quarterly Wrap-Up | my YA renaissance

  1. I recently read The Confessions of an Alleged Good Girl as well and it’s absolutely amazing! Completely agree with what you said.

    I don’t watch many shows but XO Kitty was on my list then I saw the reviews and knew it wouldn’t be something I’d like which is really sad because I love Kitty as a character :/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad to find another fan for The Confessions of An Alleged Good Girl, it is a bit of a hidden gem with an amazing story 🥰

      XO Kitty was different than what I expected in some ways and I’m sorry it didn’t end up being for you. There are probably video of Kitty’s best moments online if you ever need a Kitty hit though, a solid extroverted character 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I think Queen Charlotte having less of the romcom aspect is what hooked me in and got me enjoying it! I loved it more than the other two bridgerton shows too. Calling the second season of Shadow and Bone high-budget fanfiction is the most accurate thing I’ve heard lol, it really felt like that, but it was also so ridiculously fun i watched every second! Unfortunately I couldn’t bring myself to love the rings of power, and I dropped it after two episodes ;(

    thanks for mentioning my post!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree Queen Charlotte being more serious made for a better story, even if it broke my heart a little. That was how I know it was good.
      Haha I think that is how Bardugo actually refers to the show herself too! 😂 It was fun so I choose not to complain!
      It is a shame Rings of Power didn’t draw you in, some plots were on the boring side for me too.

      Ofc ❤️❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Excuse my lateness – I’ve been really sick these past couple of days, but now that I’m better enough to read things but not better enough to leave my bed for an extended period of time, having all your thoughts to catch up on is perfect!! 🤗 Although I have to say, you thinking the Hunger Games movies might be better than the books nearly put a dagger through my heart 😭 Nothing can ever compete with the books for me! Still, I’m really glad to hear you loved them, and should you still be interested in that Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes essay, I’ve got an endlessly long one up on my blog 😁

    I’m also really interested to see what you think of the rest of the Red Rising books. I also liked the first one, but hated books two and three with a flaming passion 😅 The only reason I read the third one at all was because I’d gotten the whole box set for Christmas and didn’t want to “waste” the present… So I really hope you have better luck!

    Your TV show opinions, though? So on point! 🤗 Queen Charlotte is easily my favorite Bridgerton series, too, and I obviously also gobbled up XO, Kitty and Never Have I Ever, Season 4. I’m going to miss Devi and her craziness so much!! And also, Ben 😍

    But anyway – I’m glad you seem to have had a good quarter and thanks so much for mentioning my post and participating in it! 💙

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh no, I am sorry you are sick and hope the recovery has continued smoothly ❤️ haha I hope you enjoyed your catch-up too!
      I’m sorry for the dagger in your heart, but the movies had more atmosphere and it was my first love for the story– maybe it not right, but it’s true 😂
      I knew I could rely on you for an essay 😁 thank you for your service!!

      Oohh the red rising series went from a like to a flaming hate-filled passion. How deliciously (tragically?!) intriguing, I want to know why now, but I should probably wait. I was going to buy the 5 book box set for £16, but maybe that isn’t wise! I get not wanting to “waste” the present too!

      Those were all great Netflix shows, Queen Charlotte definitely made me respect the bridgerton stories more! 😍
      Ahh.. Ben, he really understood Devi and Devi deserved to be understood!

      Thank you so much 🥰 ofc, it was so much fun ❤️❤️

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Of course ❤️ I think the movie will be worth the watch as many parts of the book will translate perfectly on the screen!

      Glad you both enjoyed Four Weddings, it looks fun. I shall have to check it out 🥰

      Like

  4. I’m so glad to see you found so many books and shows to enjoy this quarter! Imade mental notes to check out many things on this list.

    It always makes me happy to see love for the Hunger Games, it’s one of those series that live close to my heart! I look forward to your thoughts on the Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes , even though I haven’t read it yet.

    And Ted Lasso 😍 “As disturbing as it is to humanise football” made me laugh out loud 😂 We should all aspire to be at least a little bit like Roy Kent, I think.

    Thank you for including my post in this 🥰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank youuu 🥰 oohh I hope you love any you decide to check out!

      The Hunger Games is a really well-considered series and I love the characters in it. I can see why it is close to your heart!
      Thank you 🤗

      Ted Lasso was brilliant, but you caught me I never liked football 😂😂 Roy Kent is a legend, so I fully support that statement!!

      Of course, I loved your post ❤️

      Like

  5. It looks like you’ve read a real mixture of books over the second quarter. And I’m still thrilled that you enjoyed the Folk Of The Air books. I agree, the world could totally suit adult novels too. Maybe one day? And I loved the romance but it definitely wasn’t all that I read the series for. I just adored how it perfectly captured the beautiful but deadly allure of the fae. I also found the finale to be the weakest of the three. I adored how Jude went back in disguise but thought some events could have been expanded upon.

    Yay for THG too!! I loved the books but did find it easier to see the Capitols traps brought to life on screen. As someone who read them first they’ll always have a special place in my heart though.

    I’m glad you found another must read YA. Sorry to hear that Carrie Soto was a letdown though…one day I really will get to Evelyn Hugo 🙈

    Ooh Red Rising. That’s one series I really must pick up one day too. I love dystopian fiction after all. I’m glad you were pleasantly surprised by it.

    I expect you’ll be unsurprised to hear that I’ve seen only one of the same shows as you 🙈 I actually need to start watching more again as I seem to see very little lately. Up first will probably be Shadow & Bone now that I’ve finally read the three main Grisha series. No idea what will follow. I’ll have to look and see what’s around. I may check Four Weddings out but I’m not entirely sure. I’ve seen the movie so kind of worry how it’ll compare.

    I hope the next quarter goes just as wonderfully.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was quite a random mix of books 😂 I am glad I finally got to the Folk of The Air books, I could see Black writing an adult book for the universe one day.
      Don’t get me wrong, the Cardan and Jude interactions were fun in their unique way, I kind of thought they’d suit a different ending than a HEA, but I can say that about a few stories. I just love the bittersweet ends. 🙈
      It was definitely more than romance, it did beautiful & deadly well! Yeah, the final book could have had more of the intrigue scenes! The disguise was good though!!

      The Hunger Games were great and it played out so well on screen. I can see why the books have a special place though 💖

      Carrie Soto was a shame but I’d still be curious to see how they do the TV adaptation!

      Red Rising was so entertaining. I think you’d really like it, it actually reminded me of the hunger games, maybe as I read them close to each other though 😂

      Haha it is a little bit of a pattern 😂 I hope you enjoy any new shows you check out. Shadow & Bone is different but I found it enjoyable!!
      From what I’ve heard the TV show for Four Weddings is not similar to the original movie, it just has the four weddings and a funeral, so probably best to go in expecting a new rom-com show.

      Thank you so much!! I hope you have a good end of Summer and start of Autumn too 🌊🍁

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think I’ve mostly just read fantasy all year 😂 yes I could definitely see that too 🤞
        Aww I get that. Bittersweet can really stay with you. Plus not everyone can get a happy ending. I’m glad they ended up together though. Although I can’t see it necessarily being easy.
        I think that’s what I love so much about Dark romance, fae & vampires – the balance between danger & desire.

        I do think they’re one of the strongest adaptations that I’ve seen.

        Oh is it getting one? I knew about two of her books but didn’t realise that was getting adapted as well.

        I guess they are both dystopian. I need to start reading more of those again!!

        Thank you. I don’t know why I watch so few. I just have a tendency to put off starting new ones as they often take over 😅
        Ah right. I’ll let you know what I think of it. I saw that The Full Monty has a show now too, although that’s the same cast.

        Thank you. I hope we get more of a summer soon tbh as this one has been rather absent 😔 although not the major heatwaves from Europe. I couldn’t cope with those!!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I don’t blame you 😂✨
          The emotional impact is memorable, and that twinge of realistic too!
          Glad you enjoyed the concluding parts, they are interesting emotions to play with for sure and suit the environment so well!

          Soo good!

          I believe so, it was only recently announced. Close to the success of Daisy Jones I think.

          True, a good one for the list!

          I get it, I probably make more time for TV than I do books, and I sometimes wish it was the other way around!
          Thank you!
          I actually watched the full monty, it different to the movie but same characters in a different stage of life. It had something to say still.

          It has been quite rainy! Just surrounded by extreme weathers across the globe I think!

          Liked by 1 person

          1. They definitely tend to stay with you.

            Ah right. That makes sense. I’m not surprised tbh just can’t believe I didn’t know 🙈

            I just need to work on balance more. As I want to watch shows, just don’t want them to take over.

            Did you enjoy it then or not? I can’t believe how many things are getting reboots & sequels lately.

            It does seem that way. I just feel like we’ve hardly had a summer this year. There’s been a couple of bright spells but rain breaks in for longer every time.

            Liked by 1 person

              1. Thank you.
                Ah right I might check it out sometime then. First I really need to watch Shadow & Bone though 🙈
                I saw a couple of plants out the other day that are meant to flower around March/April so even they must be confused by the weather this year.

                Liked by 1 person

  6. Loved reading your wrapup 💗 I’m glad you liked Confessions of an Alleged Good Girl as I’ve still got it sitting on my Kindle, but I hadn’t heard many people talk about it! Sad to hear that you didn’t like Amina Al-Sirafi, I’m still not sure if I should read it 🤔

    TV-wise I also loved Queen Charlotte – way more than the Bridgerton seasons – and the final season of Never Have I Ever! Also thank you so much for sharing my post 🥰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Caro 🥰 Confessions of an Alleged Good Girl is well worth the read, I hope you love it as much as I do. It deserves some more hype!
      I did still enjoy Amina Al-Sirafi don’t get me wrong. The plot could have been stronger but still an entertaining piece. I recommend the audiobook if you decide to try it, very well made!

      Queen Charlotte had so many strengths, it really stood out to me as well! I will miss Never Have I Ever!
      Of course 💜💜

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment